Home > Episode Review, [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control > [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control 02: An Allegory of US Monetary Policy

[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control 02: An Allegory of US Monetary Policy

Just like Los Angeles in 1992.

Includes obligatory black dude being kept down by The Man.

Not that I’m saying that current US monetary policy looks like it’s been written by a scriptwriter desperately trying to keep up a press release once a week, of course. But as of episode 2, [C] and Obama’s Economic Plan show some interesting similarities.

To be precise: both incorporate an intricately constructed four-step stratagem.

Step 1: Print boatloads of new banknotes

It don't matter if it's black or white.

People out there need money? No problem!

‘Rev up the printing presses, load the ink cartridges – we’re gonna get this bailout train a-movin’.

Step 2: HAY LOOK AT THE PRETTY GURL

KIRABOS- Wait wrong anime.

Omg, it’s a pretty girl! Look at her sing and dance!

Will she be able to beat the other Assets competitors and emerge as the new American Idol?

Step 3: ???

hnngh *death sounds*

“The fundamentals of our economy are still strong!”

Step 4: PROFIT!

I love the smell of polyurethane in the morning.

Okay, so I’m exaggerating a teensy bit here. But holy crap is that massive troll logic.

Economics 101. Printing money is escalation inflation.

We start carrying hundred dollar bills, they raise prices to the thousands. We start carrying thousand dollar bills, they raise prices to the millions. We start carrying million dollar bills, and suddenly you realize your money’s worth less than the paper it’s printed on. Then the shit really hits the fan.

And here I was expecting Madoka-levels of intellectual writing.

Of course, I’m not saying that America’s economy is going the way of Zimbabwe’s, but I am saying that if [C] doesn’t step up its game, this is going to get ugly.

As it is, [C] is just managing to keep me from dozing off with two things:

SCORCHED EARTHFU

1) Moderately interesting battle sequences.

Touch your toes...

2) The lovely Mashu

Work those legs...

Who happens to be voiced by Tomatsu Haruka

Stretch...

Demonstrating the fascinating art

Stretch...

Of aerobic recuperation

Stretchhh...

Against an epileptic alternate-dimensional background.

That was pretty much the only things I paid attention to in the episode whenever I wasn’t fuming about the screenwriter’s blatant ignorance of the basics of economics.

Oh and there was some real world drama too.

I will look at you longingly while eating my noodles and pretend that you only look at your phone because you're afraid of returning my gaze and exposing your deep desirous feelings for me

-repeats scene at least once per episode accompanied by increasingly dramatic orchestral ensemble-

So like we should totally get together again and drink more canned coffee at night btw I'm totally not a pedophile or homosexual in real life

Damn man, I certainly hope [C] gets better from here, because I promised to cover this and I didn’t expect that this could potentially be one of the greatest regrets of my anime blogging life.

Wake me, Mashu; liberate me from this horrid dream.

The horns!…

...I'm starting to overlook them.

  1. April 24, 2011 at 1:36 am

    I think he should give up on the girl and go for Mysu.

    The series is decent so far and I’m just hoping it doesn’t get any worse. There should be more of Masakaki.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment