Home > Episode Review, Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi > Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi 04: Masamune’s Marshmallowy Interior

Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi 04: Masamune’s Marshmallowy Interior

Great men get hurt too.

I didn’t think Masamune would have been so emotionally affected by Ritsu ignoring his calls.

But that just makes me love him all the more.

...I'm probably imagining it, but I swear you could just see the hurt in his eyes.

This scene led me to a realization on where Masamune’s characterization is heading towards. More on this later.

But Masamune, really. If rape was the way to a girl’s/guy’s heart… I don’t want to finish that thought.

Not because it’s morally reprehensible (it is, really, honest) but because I’m already getting a headache at the idea of contemplating how different human society would have turned out today.

This is my face as I head into the office each morning.

Except that I’m obviously not as hot or manly with/without enormous bags under my eyes. I really should have thought twice about deciding to write a Moshidora post every day. (I’m procrastinating terribly as it is.)

Alternative interpretation: Ritsu's the only member of the team who's NOT on drugs.

I’m starting to enjoy these scenes of overwork and pain, in a really twisted fashion. It’s like losing ten bucks and then feeling better once you hear about someone who lost their whole wallet. Don’t lie to yourself, everyone’s done this at some point of their lives.

The good thing about Sekai-Ichi, or any trainwreck anime in general, is that no real people were hurt in the process of me getting my Schadenfreude fix. I’m thoughtful and considerate that way.

...Tarminal 2?

General incompetence in the English language notwithstanding, I’d have thought that the Japanese would have at least learned to run all their text through a spellchecker by now.

Publishing crisis of the week: some mangaka in Hokkaido had her whole team come down with the influenza, and will probably miss the deadline. Ritsu cheerfully tells the mangaka to fly in and he’ll meet her at the airport, edit it on the spot, and bring it in for printing. Hence the 3 second clip of a plane taking off.

Have I mentioned how much I love Masamune's glasses?

Masamune actually decided to drop the story at first. And was going to stop Ritsu from rushing off to meet the mangaka.

Just a little note: Ritsu took a cab to the airport. Now I’m not too sure how far the airports are from the cities (or at least the urbanized areas where Marukawa is likely to be based), but I’ve heard that it can cost up to US$250 for a one-way trip. Ritsu probably took a second cab back to meet the deadline.

I’m hoping Masamune refuses to let Ritsu expense his transportation fees. That’ll teach him.

It's on, bitches.

After delivering the manuscript, Yokozawa confronts Ritsu in the restroom. He offers up a very interesting statement.

“Did you know it’s your fault Masamune’s all screwed up now?”

The more I think about it, the more sense it makes. Masamune is rather screwed up now. He’s no longer as domineering or trollish as he was in the previous episodes. We actually see him exhibit signs of being hurt in this episode. He even goes against his usual rational side and trusts in Ritsu to pull off the impossible with the manuscript deadline.

Which, of course, makes Masamune heaps lot more squeeworthy. He’s progressed/regressed from troll to kuudere.

On the other hand, Yokozawa is starting to display some yandere tendencies. I could compare Sekai-Ichi and OreImo and the parallels would be quite shocking. Maybe it’s time I replaced my Ayase-tan gravatar with Yokozawa?

Nah.

Another sign of Masamune's developing complexity.

He’s not putting an arm around Ritsu, he’s not waking him up with a kiss. He’s simply letting Ritsu sleep on his shoulder and carrying on with his proofreading.

... Of course, he wouldn't be Masamune if he didn't pull off at least one epic troll per episode.

Sure, Ritsu was asleep, so Masamune had to carry him home. And yes, they probably had to share the bed because Masamune isn’t going to drop Ritsu on the floor, and he’s not so restrained to resist the opportunity to sleep with him.

But there was no logical reason to strip off his clothes, much less remove Ritsu’s as well. So why’d he do it?

Because he’s the Masamune we all know and love.

DAT POSE.

Oh God Masamune is unreasonably cute when he’s asleep. And unreasonably sexy sitting up shirtless.

I am so happy that we’re delving into Masamune’s character. Much as I would have enjoyed watching him kick ass at work, save a few kittens from a burning orphanage and then retire to his apartment where he has steamy not-quite-consensual sex with Ritsu every episode, I’d enjoy unraveling Masamune’s complex character more.

Maybe Masamune turns Uke by season’s end? That wouldn’t work, would it Masamune – badass by day; Ritsu’s broken sex slave by night? OH HELLS YES.

Next Episode:

So as it turns out there’s actually another couple in Sekai-Ichi – Hatori Yoshiyuki and Chiaki Yoshino, an editor-mangaka pairing. I originally mistook the Raito/L scene in the OP to be that of Masamune/Ritsu cosplaying. Whoops.

I’m looking forward to it, not because I don’t like Masamune/Ritsu anymore, but because the editor-mangaka roles allow for otherwise overly-improbable situations. And besides, more Yaoi scenes is always a plus.

Rape is like saying hello in Japan!

  1. musicalcroc
    May 1, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Ahem, non consensual sex. My new guilty pleasure. Very, very guilty pleasure. I’m disturbed myself to realize I actually like to be in Masamune’s position *facepalm*. Was in denial last week but now decide to examine it more carefully.

    Nah, I don’t think Yokozawa will go yandere. He is too manly to non-verbally attack those weaker than him. Last and this episodes show the one Ritsu needs to watch out for is Masamune. Awesome as he is, he is also freaking unpredictable. He switches from troll to rapist to sweet with scary speed.

    Last, I too wonder how the crazy expense for that one manuscript is covered. I also think Ritsu has a weakness for girls. Not that he is interested in them romantically but that he seems unable to say no/be harsh to them.

    • May 1, 2011 at 5:43 pm

      That because Ritsu has a —

      For those who haven’t read manga, I won’t say anymore. My lips are sealed.

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 2, 2011 at 12:29 am

      But do you wish to be in Masamune’s position because of the desire to dominate, or because of the desire for homosexual sex? Harsh questions!

      True, Yokozawa probably won’t attack Ritsu. But he might attack Masamune. Jilted ex-lovers are capable of anything. Anyway, I doubt Masamune’s going to try anything on Ritsu again. That last episode, he was probably overwhelmed with his own desires – it’s just that because he’s always so composed, we never expect it.

      But I think that Ritsu, no matter how jaded he professes to be, is just nice. Nice and innocent and trusting. That’s why Masamune likes him, I think.

  2. enixfire
    May 1, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Yay! The fact you told me that you’d get this out around the time I have interenet makes you a sweetie!
    This episode really flushes Masamune to be the perfect guy; you just get drawn to him because he gets progressively more and more likable. I’ve read the manga before so I know what’s coming up, but trying not to blurt out the plot and spoil everything is really hard.
    I’m really exited for the next pairing cause I just think I relate to it a lot. As always good review, really looking forward to next week \(≧∇≦)

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 2, 2011 at 12:38 am

      Well, thank goodness Moshidora will be over by next Sunday. I’ve got a terrible backlog of posts as it is ):

      Regarding Masamune being the perfect guy, it’s surprising that my idea of perfect has changed – it’s now less about the awesome and more about the vulnerabilities. But then I guess I was always the type to appreciate things for their imperfections.

      Seeing that this is only episode 4, you’re probably going to have to hold it in for a month before you start gushing about the story. Stay strong, yeah?

      By the way, I love your new gravatar: blonde, green eyes, and the maid cosplay to boot. But I don’t remember you ever saying that you wore glasses!

  3. musicalcroc
    May 2, 2011 at 1:39 am

    Because of desire to dominate. That’s the real problem. Harsh question indeed. Being powerful enough to bend another person according to one’s will is something very tempting. Scary and morally questionable, but tempting. Well, I have known and joked about my potential of being a dictator, but wanting to dominate personally and physically like Masamune did is something new.

    It’s too early to judge but somehow Yokozawa doesn’t strike me as the type that will do something regretable. Must be the kitten talk. And that those who bark loud seldom bite. Regarding Masamune, yeah, he already regretted what he did. Still it is a sign that he probably does not take the denial from his love interest very well. Desire and frustration make a volatile combination. The situation must take a toll on him.

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 2, 2011 at 2:52 am

      Problem is, there are so few outlets to vent the desire to dominate, aren’t there?

      Sekai-Ichi hasn’t had any instance of physical violence so far (apart from Masamune forcing himself on the not-too-unwilling Ritsu), and I hope this remains the case, but I suppose if it’s well handled it would be rather impactful. But yes, I doubt Yokozawa would really go there.

      Masamune is interesting because unlike Ritsu, we never get to hear his thoughts. There’s obviously all that turmoil within him and a desperate need for a lover, even though he’s the naturally aggressive one, and much as it takes a toll on him, it just makes for a much more fascinating character and story.

      • musicalcroc
        May 2, 2011 at 4:21 am

        Nah, when one has to work to the point of being near zombie, there is little need to vent the domination desire anyway. That kind of stuff requires energy, which I admit I don’t have much after a working day.

        Agree on the interal conflict makes an interesting character. Masamune has already got sympathy points in ep.2 and with ep.4 he got some more. Although I’m glad that his troll-ish side remains. It’s more fun that way and he probably needs some trolling to cope with his problem.

  4. enixfire
    May 2, 2011 at 3:18 am

    My opinion is that the perfect guy is awesome and steadfast, but he can see from more than his own perspective and take other people’s feelings into account. Masamune has experience under his belt, but he doesn’t tell people to do everything his way because he know more than them. That said I don’t think that would be considered a vulnerability, but rather a strength. I checked and the saying that was for this episode was, “Adversity makes a man wise.” This statement I think is very true and perfect when describing Masamunes actions in this episode. I’m a little intrigued in your statement though, why vulnerabilities?

    Also I actually am bespectacled (I thought I mentioned it before, but looking back through my posts apparenty not o.o). My mom always trys to scold me into wearing my contacts saying that a look better without my glasses, but I end up wearing my glasses 99% of the time cause it’s easier, faster, and I kinda have a glasses fetish (one has a 2mm black plastic frame the other is this like dark rose color metal frame). I’m a freaking walking loli chibi who’s a dandere xD (it’s pretty hard to believe, but I swear it’s all true).

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 2, 2011 at 5:00 am

      Hmm. I always thought the episode titles were only referring to Ritsu, but you’re right that it makes a strange lot of sense with respect to Masamune. He’s gone through a serious high school breakup and his parents divorcing, after all.

      Actually, the vulnerability I was referring to is Masamune’s need to be loved. Sure, he’s awesome and steadfast and considerate, but he has needs and desires too. While he can easily be the lover that many people want, how many people can be the lover Masamune wants?

      I suppose it’s because I’m starting to get bored of one-sided, perfect characters. It’s probably the writer in me, but I like my characters to discover, struggle, then finally triumph over their vulnerabilities. In the case of Masamune, if he had no vulnerabilities, he wouldn’t actually need Ritsu, yeah?

      And might I say that you’re the first girl I’ve met who has a glasses fetish. It is captivating. My mental image of you is not too different from alternate universe Nagato Yuki, actually. Please don’t say you tend to hug books to your chest – I might actually start emitting high-pitched noises of glee.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment