Home > Episode Review, Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi 2 > Sekai-Ichi S2 11: The salt in my Yokozawa fangirl wounds

Sekai-Ichi S2 11: The salt in my Yokozawa fangirl wounds

A real man handles defeat with dignity.

Yokozawa doesn’t even cry manly tears.

While I was pretty much breaking down throughout every single damn Yokozawa scene.

Happier times. Sort of.

I don’t know about you, but wiping your contact list and keeping just one person usually means that that one person is pretty important to you.

It wasn’t just the repeated sex, Masamune. Although that’s a pretty big sign of a relationship as well.

Dammit Masamune, you used Yokozawa. You totally did.

It should be obvious by now that I’ve shifted allegiance from Team Masamune to Team Yokozawa.

I’m not sure if it was intentional on the author’s part to make Masamune more of a flawed character, but Masamune’s treatment of Yokozawa was sickening. If I were to create an outline on how to be a total asshole in a relationship, I’d be looking to Masamune for inspiration.

It irks me because Masamune is so direct in all of his other dealings. In work, and with Ritsu, he’s a bulldozer with almost no subtlety. He’s polite, but he’s upfront and confrontational. Yes, Yokozawa is at fault too for deluding himself into dreams of a relationship with Masamune.

But despite knowing that Yokozawa still has feelings for him, Masamune leads him on with the house stayovers and never once firmly rejected him.

(I’m well aware that I’m not thinking objectively here. It’s just… dammit.)

I don’t outright hate Masamune now, but my opinion of him dropped many, many notches. He’s probably hovering near Chiaki on my personal Sekai-Ichi character ratings.


Just let it out, Yokozawa. Dammit.

Seriously I would have hugged him and risked a punch to the face or worse.

The worst part is that he’s still so dashing, even in defeat. He’s like a wounded sparrow, struggling to stand firm even if he might never fly again.

Mad respect.

Yes, he shouts at his staff, but he doesn’t take it out on them beyond the initial outburst. In fact it seems like Yokozawa doesn’t shout at his staff at all – unlike Masamune (just making a comparison here, I don’t really hate Masamune. At least I don’t think I do).

Real steel on the outside, a sensitive soul on the inside. I fall for Yokozawa even more with each passing screencap.

"Everything sucks"

YOKOZAWA OMG STOP IT I CAN’T TAKE ALL THIS SYMPATHETIC AGONY

Ironically the majority of the episode was focused on Ritsu and Masamune.

But after those opening Yokozawa scenes, I really couldn’t/didn’t want to watch them any more.

Especially since some people got their happy ending.

While others ended up alone. Hiding the pain on the inside.

And having to be reminded of that pain every single day at work.

"If you ever hurt him, I will take Masamune from you."

Forget the jerk, you’re much too good for him. Masamune deserves Ritsu and not you!

More props to Yokozawa for keeping calm and carrying on. I’m sure everyone knows how difficult it is to act normally towards your object of affection’s significant other when everyone’s feelings are in the open.

Devastating emotional trauma is no excuse for being unkempt.

Magnificent to the end.

I think that I had so much difficulty with this episode’s review because it struck such a painful chord with me. I’m sure that around 50% of the reason why I didn’t finish it earlier was because of laziness, but the remaining 50% was the pain.

I know it’s a terrible reason to be a Yokozawa fan, just because he’s in pain – but really, he got a crappier deal than even Yuu, and that’s saying something. That Yokozawa light novel really couldn’t have come up at a better time.

Next Episode:

Didn't want to have to look at either Ritsu's or Masamune's faces.

Flashbacks? I suppose I’d be raging even more if the two of them were getting married in the preview.

That's that. Time for some Yokozawa Takafumi no Baai.

  1. Yuu
    December 31, 2011 at 11:28 am

    I love you (and Yokoさん and this post, but more you).

    • JohnnyYandere
      December 31, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      … I-I love you too?

  2. Amber
    February 25, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Poor BB–but is it just me or does Yokozawa look especially sexy in that blue coat and suit?

  3. Isis
    May 14, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    I feel the same stupid Masumane choosing Onodera instead of Yokozawa

  4. Double C
    June 5, 2012 at 12:14 am

    man, i say it: you’ve been killing me with this reviews. Come on, I was just pretty much depressed in FML mode and just for some sorta evil coincidence came to find this, and I’ve been laughting like hell. Hadn’t laughted this much since I finished watching the Ouran Koukou, really. And in my particular case, that’s to say something.

    So you’re pretty much killing me here. No more reviews, just before the final chapter? Come on!!! That’s like the way you feel when you’re expecting a second season for an anime and suddently they say they’re gonna release a single OVA. That’s the freaking way I felt when they told me Shugo C. Party was cancelled due to lack of material (wtf? Peach-pit, start writting faster, right now, i command it!!!!)

    Though not quite sure it’s all your fault, anyways, I mean, the site seems quite down, anybody still here? Seems this is the longest absence you’ve been having in quite some time… so now I’m freaking out. Are you gonna continue? ARE YOU? You just can’t leave it that way!!!!

    Well, not like I’m allowed to complain. After all, who is the crappy fanfic writter which ALWAYS leaves her readers awaiting for months? Shit, you’ve got me ¬¬. So, I’m not one to give morality speachs. Life is life, and it sometimes gets complicated, and you just can’t go on using your time for the same things you used to. I pretty much get that. But If you’re just not gonna come back, because of whatever the reason, please tell me. Please tell me cause im kinda rolling on the floor waiting for your last review to this series, man. They absolutely killed me. Please tell me so that I at least can get my hopes down and try to adapt to the freaking reality. Just don’t leave me not knowing, for I’m stalking the blog everyday and I’m pretty much starting to scare myself.

    I beg your mercy,

    DoubleC.

    • JohnnyYandere
      June 8, 2012 at 12:09 am

      Can’t promise that I’ll ever finish the series though. It’s been a very long time since I wrote for Sekai-Ichi, and I doubt I’ll be doing it again soon. Many apologies desu~

      • Double C
        June 27, 2012 at 8:31 am

        That’s been such a disaponting comment it actually took me this long to recover from the shock. The unpayed internet bill has nothing to do with the delay. Not at all. Definitively @.@

        Anyways, even if it’s sad, I wanted to say thanks for letting me now. That’s pretty much everything. So I’ll be going now…

        But anyways, and I also wanted to say, I did enjoyed your reviews, like a lot. So I wanted to say thanks (again) for giving me a lot of laughs in a moment I needed them. Just wanted you to know that.

        I’ll be leaving now to avoid akward moments,

        DoubleC.

  5. Isis
    June 10, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    Holy my IDOL \(//∇//)\, I’m such a hopeless fan (-.-“), anyway love your reviews

  6. dhanychan
    September 13, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    when I saw sekaiichi, I immediately liked when I saw Yokosawa_san first appeared. character and his nickname, make me fascinated and thought unhandlable type. and the more I see the whole story sekaiichi I became more and more like too sorry for Yokozawa_san and understand the reasons why Yokozawa_san behave so to onodera_san because his love for masamune_san since college. so hope Yokosawa_san could find another love and it fell to Kirishima_san. and thanks to Kirishima_san Yokosawa_san eventually get better. (in the story Yokozawa Takafumi no baai)
    gosh,,, Yokozawa_san & Kirishima_san really couple I like. they look really cute and funny moments together, I love you both. although in my heart I still hope Yokozawa_san unrequited love … hehehe ^, ^
    thank you for your hard work …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

