Home > Episode Review, Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi 2 > Sekai-Ichi S2 06: And now for someone completely different.

Sekai-Ichi S2 06: And now for someone completely different.

I'm sorry, are you by perchance, agitated?

How can Isaka be so attractive and yet so terrifying?

Why, because he is a male Yandere, and the behavioural dynamics of the male Yandere is vastly different from that of the female Yandere which I am more used to.

Please treat me gently~

I don't even know which one I'd rather be.

It’s the inherent problem of the SemeXSeme relationship – you’re never quite sure which character you’re supposed to be projecting yourself onto.

"Dry me."

Like, would you want to be Isaka and have your body patted down by Asahina, or would you rather be Asahina and take your time worshipping every inch of Isaka’s hawt body?

My brain cannot yet process these strange new conflicting sensations.

They did it again!

Naked Isaka grabbing your tie or throwing yourself naked at Asahina. The mind reels! You’re both, or neither!

Anime depiction of enixfire and Kit-sama.

I think my problem is a guy-only problem. It’s like when I watch Yuri I don’t actually think too much beyond “two hot girls omg awesome”.

Likewise, while I’m trying to sort out whether I’d prefer to be Asahina or Isaka, girls are probably thinking “two hot guys omg awesome”.

Or alternatively “two hot guys omg what if they were both doing that to me omg omg”.

Well at least now we know the Uke in this situation.

Or do we? Because Isaka’s the desperate, dependent one here.

Slow down guys, my brain's still trying to adjust to all this roleplaying.

There was a reason why I mistook Isaka for Chiaki, and it’s still holding true – because despite the aggressiveness, he comes off as nothing more but a desperate Uke. While Asahina is… also an Uke?

UkeXUke? What?

Omg, now they’ve done it. Desperate Uke and panicked Uke. I am confused. So, so confused T__T

Of course, girls can still easily go “two hot guys omg awesome”. You lucky bitches.

Isaka is as confused as I am.

-brooding silently-

Although I can't brood as awesomely as Isaka does.

He is the undisputed Sekai-Ichi champion of brooding.

Those frenzied blue eyes.

Ritsu can’t brood convincingly, Masamune doesn’t brood, Yokozawa comes off as petty, Yoshiyuki seems resigned, Chiaki doesn’t brood but throws childish tantrums, Yuu just fails, Shouta is trolling half the time, and Kou is sunshine and rainbows.

Raging chibi Isaka is SUPER KAWAII

Now I want an Isaka nenderoid too.

Notice the cunning choice of attire.

“It’s raining? I shall wear a white dress shirt so that when I reach Asahina’s place the thin fabric will be soaked and translucent and my awesome hawt body will be visible.”

At least that’s what I think Isaka was thinking. Because really, this sort of stuff never happens in real life. NEVER.

Silly Asahina, you're supposed to lead Isaka to the bathroom!

Then offer to wash his back for him and admire his muscles then he’ll confess his love awkwardly and so will you and then Isaka will lunge for you and you’ll end up kissing him and tasting soap in his mouth from all the foam and have sex right there then wash up then head to the bedroom and have sex again.

"I'll take responsibility for all this."

Although I guess your way works too.

chuu~

I’m pretty sure that all dramatic romantic kissing scenes can be ruined with that sound effect.

And I’d have linked a youtube video to prove it, but I can’t find any. Tarnation.

Anime hug = Manga hot Yaoi sexy time

I still can’t get over that adaptation equation. Do girls really want that much sex?

What’s wrong with cuddling? Can’t a relationship be reaffirmed with a cuddle? Isn’t it a little exaggerated to go straight from tearful confessions to rough sex?

Then again I guess I like seeing my Yuri couples go straight to the sex too. But cuddling is not overrated, damn it!

How the times have changed us.

Isaka, you used to be wild and awesome. Now you’re just wild and weird. What happened?

Look at that smirk.

Asahina is having an affair. I know it. I just know it.

Shoutout to the one scene wonder.

And Akihiko appeared in last episode’s preview too. So much for the love triangle plot I was expecting. I don’t even know why he was given screentime at all; he had virtually nothing to contribute to the Isaka/Asahina story.

I think it was for the uniform to make a cameo appearance. Male Japanese school uniforms are so cool.

Next Episode:

Ritsu has to finally sort out the mess that his romantic life is in. But it’s only episode 7. You can’t fool me again, Studio DEEN!

What's this? A harem ending?!

I jest. But look at the effort put into these shots. Especially the flowers in the background.

Also, Shouta’s eyes are huge. Huge and cute. Dammit, and he’s what, 32? -is jealous-

... I can't think of anything witty to say -waves arms wildly-

  1. Benihime
    November 19, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Nothing’s wrong with cuddling! Sometimes anime adaption is better with only hugs and kisses, but as manga readers are all used to see the sex scenes, these are way more wished. Don’t know why they insist to cut them off. There are lots of animes with sex even on tv, but it seems man x man scenes are offensive somehow…

    • JohnnyYandere
      November 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm

      Butbutbut hugs and kisses are more romantic! T___T

      • xexexe
        November 24, 2011 at 1:41 am

        I agree to this 100%. Sex is fine and all, but do we really need hardcore bed action when hugs and kisses would soften and romanticize the mood? Those that wish more for sex might as well watch hardcore yaoi😄 (which I have yet to have the courage to try).

  2. enixfire
    November 21, 2011 at 3:32 am

    GAHFLAKFAFGUOIAFHASJDHF BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!! (<- That's sleep deprived fangirl spaz for "OMFG") Me and Kitface throughly enjoyed our cameo as presented by this skype chat:

    Enixfire:OMFG LOOKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [insert blog link]
    Kit: L
    O
    L
    LKNBKLOIDOIWNHSKOLJNGBKJDZNBKJDMNKLV
    WHY AM I IN HERE?
    Enixfire: I DON'T KNOW!
    Kit: LOLLKMLKSBVMNOIWEJGFEKORIJFAQOIKJOGEKLI
    im going out with matt today though soonish
    but i enjoy the fact that you and i were cameo'd in this
    Enixfire: xD I know right!
    Kit: which one
    am i?
    LOL
    Enixfire: ….. I don't know…..
    Kit: ffffff

    and for unrelated events continuing the chat
    Enixfire: also I got the recording on youtube😀
    Kit: links
    Enixfire: the others are in the process of uploading http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TmI-ZqI3u-8
    Kit: I like it
    and there you go some of the derp that is myself and my lord and master Kit

    *Begins watching episode*
    "dry me" *TOWEL FACEPLANT PLOP!* trolololololololol! ALSO DERR!
    "Please hire a maid or get married if you want to be coddled!" You request for coddling has been denied YaoiYandere! OMG I LOVE THESE TWO ALREADY! THE CHILDISH MASTER AND THE STRAITLACED SERVANT! xD HA! His childish rage must make Asahina just think, "oh your so adorable when you bitch~" with his "I don't give a flying fuck" poker face. LOL that smirk when he was on the phone! He was totally thinking "+5 daddy points~." OMFG THE GIRLS! DERRRRR! ME AND KIT (or at least Kit) would say that in public and I would follow suit and omfg *squeeeee~* ooooo~ badass Isaka is so suave tehe~ BAH! WHY IS THERE USAGI IN MY SEKAI-ICHI!? GTFO! IF I WANTED YOU I'D FINISHED THE REST OF JUNJOU ROMANTICA WHICH I DROPPED, LEAVE! JUST DROP OFF YOUR VOICE ACTOR CAUSE OMFG ♥ HIS VOICE! OMFFAKJFGAKFDUGOIADFUGJOISDFUGJTOIERFJCOIVG YESSSS!!!!!! ♪ http://youtu.be/pYzOQFpGPYE ♪ PUSH THAT SEME MAN DOWN AND MAKE HIM YELP! DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA YESSSS!! (I'm spazing quite a lot and abusing the caps lock… I blame the hyperactivity I'm getting from RPing and the return of Kit who wasn't online for a month) ah~ the get together is sweet and your finally learning! Yes for every anime hug the manga is paralleled with sexy man sex time. Funny thing is that I found that this is part of Junjou mistake and not seikai-ichi. Oh you silly studio DEEN sneaking in other series in~ I'll forgive you cause I like these two~. gah~ I ♥♥♥♥ed the ending no matter how much to think Isaka's wild and weird I'll like him all the same (≧▽≦) Isaka's win forever (I also saw him in Junjou which might influence my fangirlism but still!)

    • JohnnyYandere
      November 22, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      -pats enixfire on the head-

      • enixfire
        December 1, 2011 at 9:52 am

        xD haha lol~ seems you’ve gathered quite the following of fujoshi girls, doodler outta draw you with your own flock of followers now.

  3. xexexe
    November 21, 2011 at 9:40 am

    All you fujoshi here seriously need to find a man for YaoiYandere to figure out whether he’s more a seme or an uke. That way, the next time he won’t be so troubled trying to figure out whom to identify with or project himself into😀

    You can’t fool me again, Studio DEEN!” Trick me once, shame on you. Trick me twice, shame on me. Glad to see you have learned rather quickly! lol

    Oh also, is enixfire gonna be okay? (*staring awestruck at her post while slightly considerably confused)

    • JohnnyYandere
      November 22, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      enixfire is going to be okay. Such are merely the inscrutable ways of the fujoshi -nods sagely-

  4. Nana
    November 26, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Oh my goodness, after a night of reading your posts, I offically love you and your blog… Freaking hilarious commentary. You kinda rekindled my love for Sekaiichi Hatsukoi. Well, not that I ever fell out of love for it, just that I usually keep away from fandom (for… reasons!), but you totally sucked me in with this blog.

    Oh, btw, about the whole sex issue. As fujoshi, we’re just feeling deprived of all the sex scenes we *want* to see animated from the manga (cuz we are damn kinky like that). Of course, Studio DEEN can’t do that anymore (I say “anymore” because this author’s other series that was also animated by Studio DEEN, Junjou Romantica, was a bit more explicit yet-not-really than Sekaiichi Hatsukoi) because of some law passed in Japan that prohibited explicit sex scenes in anime (particularly yaoi…? but I’m not sure)… We’re just fangirls, we have nothing else to live for, you know? /shotshotshot
    But from what you’ve been writing so far, I think you haven’t actually read/watched any particularly explicit sex scenes yet? -Well you will soon- NO I’M KIDDING, REALLY, IF YOU’RE UNCOMFORTABLE WITH IT, IT’S FINE, I think Sekaiichi Hatsukoi can be just as sweet without the sex. If you want a girl’s point of view, I actually never minded too much that the sex was cut out, in fact, I found it to be more romantic at times.
    Alright, enough of my surely long rant, I look forward to your next post! I also recommend you read the manga since the anime’s not gonna give you *everything* (plot wise, not the sex).

    • JohnnyYandere
      November 26, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      -blushes- Thanks for the compliment! Although I do think my writing is getting a stale .___. Do you think so? I mean, since you probably read multiple entries at a single go. I think I need a new perspective to improve my writing.

      But nah, I’ve seen explicit yaoi scenes before, although it wasn’t strictly hentai since nothing was shown. Enixfire (who’s been here since Sekai-Ichi season 1) got me to watch the Koisuru Boukun OVA, and I liked it.

      It’s just that in Sekai-Ichi, the characters have primarily emotional needs. Ritsu missed Masamune because of the emotional connection, not because of great sex (at least not primarily). So it’s very strange (for me, at least) to have Masamune comfort Ritsu, tell him that he’ll always love him, all that stuff, and suddenly jump his bones.

      Whereas in Koisuru Boukun it was pretty much the Tsundere guy refusing to admit that yaoi sex felt so good. So the constant sexual harassment made sense.

      Or something. I don’t think I’m making much sense.

      Anyway! I dislike reading manga because I hate reading it online, maybe someday when my Japanese is adequate I’d go buy the actual manga. That hasn’t stopped Enixfire from linking me to certain significant scenes such as Masamune-Ritsu action.

      But I do apologize for the lateness of Episode 07’s review. I’ve been so lazy~

      • Nana
        November 27, 2011 at 3:08 am

        No, seriously, I LOVE your commentary, I think it’s hilarious and a lot better then most other SiH bloggers. I don’t think you’re stale at all. :O Really, they’re hasn’t been one post that hasn’t been able to make me smile/laugh/squee so far.😀
        Uh, (confessions), besides the Chiaki/Hatori ones… to tell you the truth, I skip them. NO! It is definitely NOT because I DON’T LOVE YOU, I’m just NOT a Chiaki/Hatori fan (not a hater, I just don’t like them). I even skip over actual episodes. But your blog is actually tempting me to read them, just to get a taste of the Sekaiichi Hatsukoi I’m missing out on. So yeah… OH GOD, this is gonna be another really long comment. xD
        And don’t worry about the lateness, I will still wait patiently, nonetheless.😀

        About their sexual relationship… actually no, you’re making a lot of sense! I totally get what you’re saying, because I’ve always pondered about the reasons WHY the couples always have sex too… and the real reason, I think, is all just because of the genre, and it’s just the way our author tells the story… xD After the first time they finally have sex (when Ritsu got drunk), most of the following chapters *always* had sex in them nearing the end, I think it’s just a recurring (for the lack of a better word) gag now and fujoshi just tend not the question it (or complain /shot). She kind of does this in Junjou Romantica too… I don’t know, after you brought up such a good point, I feel like this was a crappy explanation… xP

      • musicalcroc
        November 28, 2011 at 8:57 pm

        As Nana said, the sex is sort of a convention of yaoi and plays for all its worth with all kinds of kinks. I personally don’t mind them being taken out for Sekaiichi but did raise the eyebrow at Masamune hugging Ritsu in bed in full street clothes. It just looks, idk, silly. Isn’t it uncomfortable to sleep like that?

  5. musicalcroc
    November 28, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Sorry for not commenting regularly. Been busy lately.

    Isaka is godly but the backstory about his love interest’s family committing suicide together disturbs me. I mean, what?, they expect a kid to die.

    You can’t fool me again, Studio DEEN!
    :DDD Didn’t I tell you the rough number of episodes until Ritsu FINALLY gives in back in ep.2? Now that the New Year party is out of the way, we have two more to go. Interested in what you have to say about Ritsu’s return to denial in ep.7😛

    Btw, I squeed shamelessly when Kou made his entrance in ep.8. Such a cute boy.

    • JohnnyYandere
      November 30, 2011 at 5:08 am

      Oh man I just came back from doing overtime and it’s 5am and I’m 2 episodes behind ಥ_ಥ

      Btw wut. Wut is this love family suicide thing.

      Also THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH CUDDLING IN FULL STREET CLOTHES. MASAMUNE COULD BE DECKED OUT IN PLATEMAIL AND ID STILL GLOMP HIM

  6. May 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    Reblogged this on dcsoyangco.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

