Home > Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, Episode Review > Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – 3: I see what you did there.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – 3: I see what you did there.

I’d be lying through my teeth if I said that this anime, at least for the first 3 episodes, wasn’t about blatant and deliberate fanservice of the Meat that is Sena Kashiwazaki.

The meat of this episode (pardon the blatant and deliberate pun) is all about her, plus some side dishes of aristocrat loli, to cater to the other audience with whatever fetish they have.

I doff my cap towards anybody who dares to play eroge in school. I kowtow to any hot girl who plays eroge in school, and doesn’t give a shit.

And it’s a parody of The Sacred Blacksmith, an anime that was so average that even the fansubbers decided to drop it. The lead heroine’s name and figure still circulates around imageboards today, no thanks to her ample breast..plate.

I like the idea of fanservice that fits snugly into the episode, not random-ass moments of lolis getting caught naked all of a sudden during a serious episode (coughcoughkamisamanomemochoucoughcough).

So when Yozora suggested that Sena should read out the lines of the sex scenes in the eroge to prove that it’s not disgusting, I was like:

THIS IS WHAT I PAID FOR!

And sweet Lord, hearing Itou Kanae use an AV voice was nearly too much for my heart. ME GUSTA.

And this is Kodaka’s sister, Kobato. Who is voiced by Kana Hanazawa.

Let’s do the math. Kana Hanazawa, whose sweet succulent moe voice melts hearts, coupled with a loli ojou-Kuroneko imouto with heterochromia.

If this was Mortal Kombat, AV Itou Kanae voice was the last hit to FINISH HIM, then the producers bring in Kobato for the FINISHING BLOW.

Speaking about blow, this is Kodaka doing his best impression of Shinji Ikari in the movie End of Evangelion.

For the uninformed, this is the scene where Shinji pulled Asuka over on the hospital bed and accidentally exposes her boobs. Then he faps to her.

Nice one Kodaka. By any chance, were you thinking about your sister??

See what I mean by smoothly integrated fanservice? Sena wanted to learn how to swim as she wanted to protect her galge character at the beach. Never mind her delusional state, this is an excellent opportunity for us to see her in a swimsuit!

Ahh, such a fabulous sight. No need to resort to abrupt solar beams or black bars, or novelty censors. Rarely do we have a character capable of looking this good without resorting to cheap tricks to boost DVD or Blu-ray sales.

In what this series lack for censors, they make up for it in sheer volume, if you know what I mean. I think it is no accident that nearly half of my screenshots show Sena and her funbags in all it’s splendour and glory.

While lesser protagonists, or should I say weak excuses for male leads, would have already fainted from excessive blood loss, or have gotten into a tangle that puts their life at risk, we have Kodaka here who handles this pseudo-date LIKE A BOSS.

In front of arguably one of the hottest anime girls around, the deadpan Kodaka pays tribute to yet another anime, the deadpan faces of the Nichijou characters. Or as the British Government in World War 1 would put it, Kodaka is able to Keep Calm & Carry On.

Would you just look at the rate at which Haganai racks up the parody count? Sena taunts 3 guys who tried to hit on her, while doing her best impression of Kirino, JohnnyYandere’s first and only love.

Lucky for her, Kodaka came to the public pool equipped with his BAMF (Bad Ass Mutha Fucka) face, ready to unleash it on any unsuspecting guy who dares to hit on Sena.

This guy has got the balls and the face to match, and the wherewithal to know when to use it. I like this character; he’s a breath of fresh air.

I can almost forgive his shoddy dirty blonde hair. Cos he slicks it back. Forgive me, but I have to use LIKE A BOSS again.

He’s not afraid to scold Sena for not knowing her limits. I love his straightforward, strait-laced attitude, cos it gives us an excellent view of Sena’s underboob. ME GUSTA. Again.

Sena almost seems to like it, as a matter of fact. Kodaka is so badass, he doesn’t even need to try to make Sena fall for him.

I’m not sure what makes him so discontent to start with. He has a cute sister who has no qualms dashing into her brother’s arms stark naked to complain about not having hot bath water.

Just flipping his hair can make anybody accede to his demands.

All the girls in the rinjin-bu will probably fall for him.

And he complains about his sorry plight that people misunderstand him due to his hairstyle.

I say, FUCK THE OTHER PEOPLE and enjoy your life. You’ve got so much more to live for! Hell, if some higher immortal being tells me one day that I will have Kodaka’s kind of life, but I would have to dye my hair a dirty ridiculous colour, I’d say BRING THE DYE. I KNOW MY PRIORITIES.

Now we have this flashback, where Kodaka struggles to remember who his childhood friend was.

Let me take a stab in the dark. I’ve watched this scene from many different angles, and I’ve spent countless hours on analyzing every detail.

All I can say is, the evidence points towards it being that…

…Kodaka’s childhood friend is Ash Ketchum.

He wants to be the very best, like no one ever was.

The other match I could find was Yozora, but the possibility of that happening is like 0.000001%.

As Dumb and Dumber put it though, we shouldn’t discount this possibility, cos:

  1. xexexe
    October 25, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Sacred Sward: watched half of the 1st episode; gave up.
    Evangelion: watched the first 4 episodes; gave up b/c of Shinji

    I DID NOT ASK FOR THEM TO COME BACK AND HAUNT ME, ESPECIALLY NOT IN THIS REVIEW…>.> Oh, and what has been seen cannot be unseen. I gave up on Eva like I said, so why must you further deepen my disgust towards it with that Shinji’s-fap-aftermath picture? D; I was totally shocked and traumatized. When I first saw that screenshot, I was like, “Meh, could be soap.” But then came your detailed description.

    Okay okay, I’ll stop being such a tsundere towards your review now. XD This is actually extremely amusing, for I’m learning something new every time about the shows Haganai parodied on 😀 Keep it up with the eye-openers!

    Oh, and nope, Yozora is totally not Kodoka’s childhood friend, alright~ Uh-uh! =P

    • xexexe
      October 25, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      Did I say Sacred Sword? I meant Sacred Blacksmith.
      This episode did a bigger number on my mind than I thought XD You’d know what I meant since you saw the episode too ;D (“あなたの大きくて黒光りしている聖剣で貫いて~”)

    • October 25, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Haha some of them aren’t even real parodies, as in I’m quite sure the producers didn’t mean it that way.

      But I get a kick out of it. It’s those “Hey, why didn’t I think of that? Oh snap!” kind of moments.

      And you should watch the Rebuild of Evangelion movies. Being a set of 4 movies, it means less time for Shinji to emo around and more action. Only two films are out though, not sure when the other two will come. It’s blatant milking of the series for all its worth but I don’t care. It’s so nice to watch and not understand wtf is going on.

      • xexexe
        October 26, 2011 at 12:15 pm

        YES they are parodies nao! ;D It makes things more enjoyable, too, when you try parallels across series~

        Evangelion…not sure if want. I’m not sure I’d be able to stand looking at Shinji’s face for more than 5 seconds, so 4 movies would seem like eternal torture to me XD

        Don’t blame me for taking the word “milking” in your sentence as something completely different and blatantly perverted since, well, now that I know of the existence of that scene in Evangelion thanks to your, hehe.

      • October 28, 2011 at 1:12 am

        I can only say that Shinji did it in the spurt of the moment.

  2. enixfire
    October 26, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Gah- Yozora can be soooo mean sometimes o-o As a fujoshi I can say that my mind does go into the gutter.. a lot… but that doesn’t mean that such things as hentai or yaoi or yuri are disgusting in the least. Yes there’s scenes that are hella dirty in there, but if it is a respectable piece of art as Sena says then there are also wonderful characters and a plot that will bring forth awe and/or tears. I’ve seen such works of art I’d say that have touched my soul and made be cry buckets upon buckets of tears. I salute you Sena, you ain’t the sharpest tool in the shed, but you’re hearts in the right place (`・ω・´)> . That and Sena was pretty fortunate that she was caught by Yoroza, I got caught by my peers bringing yaoi to school and my reputation went down the toilet o-o;. I’m relating with Sena better and I like it =w=. Yozora on the other hand needs to actually simmer down some yeesh~ making Sena cry was hardly fair, as I’ve said there are scenes that are hella dirty but also ones that are hella beautiful. I wouldn’t be surprised if Yozora knew this and just kinda threw a punch at Sena that she knew would hit her where it hurts, ouch. This is odd, at first I thought Sena was a stuck up girl that was too arrogant and “I am greater than thou” to make friends which she is, but Yozora is plain out just out to crush hearts. Between the two I’d say Sena has an easier chance at making friends than Yozora.

    • archyver
      October 27, 2011 at 12:16 am

      haha enixfire prepare to have tons of fun in the next episode as there is some mild BL from then onwards!!!

  3. jon2435
    October 28, 2011 at 1:09 am

    It shows when my cousin and I chat about anime. He is not a fanservice anime fan, but I enjoy the stuff – and I like what I like. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai does it right. When anime gets mega serious mistakes can happen, and sometimes excessive amounts of mistakes show up.

    “(coughcoughkamisamanomemochoucoughcough)”

    Love the blogs.

    • October 28, 2011 at 1:14 am

      I wish I could ‘like’ your comment. Good fanservice is when it’s tastefully done, and doesn’t break the flow of the episode.

  4. Tyler Junky
    October 28, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Dear sweet lord saten look at those tIIIIIIIIties! XD

    I useualy hate harems – as noted in my Infinat Stratos Review – but this is turning out to be one of the better ones.

    And I must say the sister charecter is a bit….irksome.

    Anouther fine review. Although I don’t get where the Pokemon reference came from. @_@

    • October 29, 2011 at 1:22 am

      You mean you don’t know who was the very best, like no one ever was?

      To him, his real test was only ever to catch them, and his cause was to train them with care and compassion.

      He travelled across the lands, searching far and wide.

      On a quest to search for each and every pokemon, to reveal the power that’s inside of them.

    • xexexe
      October 29, 2011 at 2:23 am

      oh com’on, don’t you see a resemblance between Red/Ash and Kodaka’s childhood friend who wore a cap? O.O

      • October 29, 2011 at 4:53 am

        Maybe something more explicit is needed. Like a pokeball.

  5. Tyler Junky
    October 29, 2011 at 6:58 am

    Okay, okay I see the comparison no need for even more explicit references XD.

    PS has anyone here commented my Hanasaku Iroha review? T^T

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

