Home > Episode Review, Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai > The World God Only Knows OVA: 4 Girls and an Idol

The World God Only Knows OVA: 4 Girls and an Idol

Hail scallywag, I perceiveth that thou delighteth in Senior Educational Institution Music Associations;

Thusly I have inserted Senior Educational Music Associations into thy Macrocosm Which Divinity Exclusively Comprehendeth, in accordance to thy desire to observe pubescent XX-chromosonal homo sapiens whilst observing pubescent XX-chromosonal homo sapiens.

Verily.

Suffice to say that TWGOK is one of the few harem anime that I genuinely enjoy.

Yes, the girls are a big part of it.

They take boring, stale anime girl clichés and deconstruct/overemphasize them for much fun and profit.

But it’s also because of Keima.

Because unlike all the other harem anime protagonists who spend their time angsting about girls while ‘humorously’ not noticing their advances and failing to win their hearts; Keima wins the hearts of girls who do their best to avoid him, then angsts about them once they forget him.

That seemed more logical before I typed it out. Moving on~

Oh, it’s not that I couldn’t find better screencaps of Elsie, but I just loved her enthusiastic proclamation and its less than enthusiastic response.

Also I miss this sort of art shift that only TWGOK exhibits and that only Manglobe can adapt so well.

I wish TWGOK would spend less time messing with firetrucks and more time on Elsie with her friends though. Her obsession is cute, don’t get me wrong, but Elsie is way cuter in her ongoing attempts to adapt to human life.

Tsundere Ayumi is still one of my favourite girls. Really, nobody but Taketatsu Ayachi could bring her to life.

“It’s not like I can’t study, I’d rather concentrate on my running right now…”
“What’s with the haughty attitude?!”
“You don’t have to go that far…”
“Don’t call me by my first name!”
“I got 35 points in the last test… I don’t think it’s that bad… I’m not an idiot… A-Anyway, I got 100 points back in middle school!”

hee~ (Is there an emoticon for watching something with a inane grin on your face?)

Chihiro is… the Ritsu of TWGOK. Honestly, she doesn’t really stand out that much. Even though she’s the driving force behind this whole OVA.

But what I did like in this OVA is her interactions with Ayumi. The two of them have so much chemistry.

(If, in a recent manga chapter, instead of Keima hiding Chihiro under his blanket, what if it was Chihiro and Ayumi snuggling together? (*´Д`)ハァハァ)

Ah, Kanon. I’m not sure how I feel about her. I do have an issue with high school girls who have fame and fortune at such a young age, and with such apparent ease, too.

But it’s sweet that she seems to be the only one who remembers Keima. And was she this cute in her megane form during season 1? I wonder if I’m coming down with a megane fetish.

Obviously, sooner or later, the girls are going to remember what Keima did for them. Through magic or the power of love, or something. It’s just logical plot progression.

But for the time being, it’s enough to see them wrestle with vague notions of attraction for him while subconsciously viewing each other as rivals.

Yes, it’s twisted. No, I don’t care, because it’s cute and funny – especially because it’s twisted.

Creepy Kodama-sensei is cute and funny too.

I know it’s because I’ve watched too much ecchi/hentai, but those expressions on the girls’ faces ( ´_ゝ`)

I don’t know if Keima was just covering his bases or whether he knew that there was no way all 4 girls would all get full marks, but it was still sweet of him to take a hit for them.

Not that I could possibly empathize with him. Must be nice to make a teacher happy by not getting full marks.

逃げる, AYUMI-CHAN. 速く逃げる!

I still rage, sometimes, that she got only one episode to herself while other, less deserving girls get 2 or 3 episodes instead.

Oh Keima. You do want the girls to remember you, don’t you. God of Conquest has a heart after all.

Just you wait until all their memories return. Or when they all decide that they love you. Then you’ll be wishing for your solitude and PFP goodness once more.

Curiously enough, such a harem development doesn’t annoy me that much. Probably because Keima actually seeks them out and earns their affection, starting out from apathy/dislike – unlike generic harem stories where girls just throw themselves at the protagonist as the basic premise.

Of course, since Keima actually treats girls better than most single romance male protagonists – let’s not even consider harem male protagonists – I would be okay with this.

I can just imagine the girls trying to distract him from his PFP – they wouldn’t see each other as rivals, not with the PFP 2D goddesses as the main threat – and him doing the bare minimum to keep them happy – all the while desperately trying to tell himself that he still doesn’t like 3D girls yet still needing their attention. It would be glorious.

But for the time being, a bunch of girls doing cute stuff is fine too.

  1. Everyday Otaku
    October 7, 2011 at 4:50 am

    It was Ayumi he hid under the sheet

    • JohnnyYandere
      October 8, 2011 at 2:51 am

      I could have sworn Keima took turns hiding one girl from the other under the blanket. I must have been feverish/viewing-too-much-doujinshi at the time of writing this post.

  2. November 1, 2011 at 7:43 am

    I think there was a k-on reference in there.
    The second image you have there looks like azusa doing that “Ny-Nya” scene :3.

    • JohnnyYandere
      November 1, 2011 at 11:26 pm

      You theorize correctly. No one can Ny-Nya like Azusa can ❤

  1. November 25, 2011 at 1:47 am

Leave a Reply

