Home > Episode Review, Hanasaku Iroha > Hanasaku Iroha – 24: That CANNOT UNSEE moment.

Hanasaku Iroha – 24: That CANNOT UNSEE moment.

How long does it take to get my life sorted out in a foreign country and make a new post? 2 weeks.

How long does it take for Kou to pick his namby-pamby ass up and still fail at being the one to make the confession? 24 weeks.

I’m sorry but I’m not rooting for him.

I do root for Minko and Tohru though. Don’t they just look perfect together? Here they are, finding themselves revelling in an uninhibited moment of manga-sharing.

Both of them are douches when it comes to dealing with romance issues. Then again, so are most of the characters in the series.

How is it possible that the wussy little Enishi became the first to set his life straight, proposing to Takako? I do commend him on that though. What a way of sticking to what you believe in.

Unfortunately, their dreams were shattered when they were totally unprepared mentally for what Jiromaru was about to announce.

That he was the creator of their favourite manga.

That wry smile that spread across his face was the feeling of utter satisfaction, the feeling that he won but wasn’t exactly sure why he was happy that he won.

And the grim realization that spread across the awkward duo’s faces was priceless, as it dawned upon them that their favourite literary text was penned by a sub-par writer that couldn’t even make ends meet when he resorted to erotic novels.

Thanks to a bit of divine intervention from Satsuki, the inn was brimming with reservations once again. It’s funny how Satsuki has been away from Kissuisho for such a long time, yet all she needed to do to improve the inn’s business was as simple as a waving of her magic fingers across the keyboard, formulating an excellent review of Kissuisho.

Okami-san is refuses to budge with her stance though, and it’s not exactly clear why. With a new sense of responsibility and authority, Enishi actually attempts to wrest control of the inn from his mother.

It is undoubtedly a bold and audacious move, but Okami-san wasn’t swayed but Enishi’s steadfastness.

Even Nako got pissed. That soft-spoken sexy little nymph.

Feast your eyes on her, cos the next picture is gonna be better.

OH SHI-

My eyes…they burn…

Cannot…unsee!

Alright, let’s soothe our eyes once more with the lovely little thing that is Nako.

I swear, this whole scene was so unsettlingly trippy. I had no idea what the producers were going for, suddenly visually assaulting us with the wrinkly hag that is Okami-san.

In all seriousness though, Okami-san finally was comfortable enough to reveal her reasons for her insistence to shut down the inn, when alone with her granddaughter.

Kissuisho was named as such to be “an inn to make Sui happy”. Naturally, Okami-san felt that the inn should live and die with her, as she had been imposing her will onto her two children. At her advanced age, she was tired, and there was no better time to shut the inn down then when its business was gradually dwindling.

Of course, she hadn’t considered that her children and staff were more than happy to rein Kissuisho from the cliffs and bring it back to safety.

But, Ohana made her realize that she couldn’t understand their feelings due to the gap in age. She caved in to Ohana’s protest at last, so I guess we’ll be seeing a good ending after all.

It’s been two weeks since my last post, and I apologize for that, but as documented by my fellow bloggers, I’m now adapting to life overseas.

I won’t make people puke by saying OH WAIT HEY I’M JUST LIKE OHANA THEN but it’s a new life and there’ll be new challenges.

One of these challenges involves trying to finish up the two series that I’m blogging and picking up 1 (not 2. who am I kidding?) more series for the new season.

So look forward to it and don’t fret about excellent series (Steins;Gate, Nichijou, Kamisama Dolls) ending. I think there’s a promising lineup for the new season. Did somebody say Fate/Zero?

 

 

  1. Hogart
    September 29, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Didn’t Kou confess to Ohana at the start of the series? I thought she and Minko were the lame pansies for 24 weeks?

    Kou definitely *was* a pansy, but for not letting Ohana go and moving on. Pinocchio never turns out to be a real boy in these idealized teenage love dramas…

    • September 29, 2011 at 9:25 am

      Agreed, Kou did confess to Ohana, but that was it.
      What I didn’t like is that this whole romance issue was glossed over for the whole of the series till the end. Suddenly Kou has a happy ending. Somehow, he wasn’t developed enough for me to care whether he exists or not.
      I’d rather talk about how I would NOT want Tohru and Ohana to be together, simply because Tohru had arguably more character development. In a sense that he mattered to the plot, and not for the sole reason to bring Ohana back to Tokyo, in Kou’s case.

  2. Tyler Junky
    September 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Woah your living over seas? As in Japan. When was this? How’s life there?

    Any ways another good review. I just saw the last episode and am starting my Hanasaku Iroha review tonight. I don’t know when it’ll be up but look forward to it.

    PS:
    I found myself strangely turned on when Okami-san appeared naked in the bath. Dunno whyO_o

    I guess I’m just THAT kind of otaku ._.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

