Home > Happenings > AFA2011 Media Preview

AFA2011 Media Preview

The problem with covering media releases is that there’s always a bigger fish.

And by bigger fish, I mean established-websites-with-paid-staff-and-paid-reporters. Or news-corporations-with-even-more-paid-staff-and-bigger-cameras.

And these bigger fish are always going to have more resources, more manpower, and will definitely be providing more information. And they’ll be faster too.

So what’s a little independent blogging group to do?

Provide a link to the official website, which will always have the most up-to-date, verified information, of course!

And then offer opinions, which is what those bigger fish seem unable to do. It’s Business 101: Don’t compete with bigger fish – get out of the water where those bigger fish fear to tread.

Must be hard work, being a massive, soulless, entity with no opinion apart from politically correct sound bites.

But for those of you who insist on relying on non-official, non-established sources of news – fight the power, stick it to the Bigger Fish – or if you’re just too lazy to click that proffered link and navigate through all those pages…

… here’s a streamlined schedule of the Anisong concert.

But before that, ticket prices! Because it’ll be depressing to read about the good stuff and then realize you can’t afford it.

3-day I Love Anisong VIP ticket: SGD$368
1-day I Love Anisong VIP ticket: SGD$148
1-day I Love Anisong Standing ticket: SGD$48

Single day tickets are inclusive of day stage and festival access for the day, while the three-day ticket includes day stage and festival access for all days.

Right. On with the schedule.

11th November
– An honest-to-goodness 3D Hatsune Miku concert, none of that 2D commoner theatre nonsense. Plus actual live backing musicians to provide actual live backing music.

12th November
– LiSA, the singing voice for Angel Beats!’s Yui, and is incredibly cute in person.
– Mizuki Ichirou, aka Aniki. Kamen Rider SUTORONGAAAAA.
– FLOW, alternative rock band behind Code Geass’ ‘Colors’ and Naruto’s ‘GO!!’ and ‘RE:member’. Also the name of a fun browser-based flash game.
– Sea☆A, girls formerly of the Singaporean Moe Moe Kyun maid cafe. Their name gives me typesetting problems.

13th November
– Kalafina, responsible for that family-friendly bubblegum pop hit ‘Magia’.
– Milky Holmes, proving that the power of cute teenage girls is not to be underestimated.
– Itou Kanako, who sings songs for anime that I don’t watch, like Togainu no Chi and Steins;Gate.
– May’n, who can’t get enough of Singapore and also sings songs for anime I don’t watch, like Hidan no Aria.

Disclaimer: All direct linked Anisong photos are property of their respective owners – © Ichirou Mizuki, © Aniplex ©Sony Music Artistes. Inc © May’n, etc. Please don’t sue us we’re just trying to save our rapidly dwindling upload space.

Also, special guests!

Left to right:
– Iwakami Atsuhiro, producer behind Kannagi (YES) and OreImo (HELL YES). Oh and he produced Puella Magi Madoka Magica and Fate/Zero too.
– Tanaka Masayoshi, character designer for Toradora! and DAT FLOWER. Wears a freakin’ sweet tuque.
– Chiwa Saitou, seiyuu for Hitagi Senjougahara and Francesca Lucchini. And a certain magical girl too.
– Nakanishi Gou, producer of Asura Cryin’ and Hen Zemi, here to present the film Mardock Scramble 2. Can’t get a good picture of him.

Along with cosplayer Kaname☆ (would commission him for First Tsurugi if I had the cash) and Danny Choo as the main stage host. I don’t really think that highly of Mr Choo, but at least he sort of knows stuff about what he’s presenting. Right?

Not to mention the Cool Japan Forum.

For SGD$85, you get to be a delegate and listen to:

Hirano Keiichirou, Novelist
Kidani Takaaki, Bushiroad Inc. President
Mikimoto Haruhiko, Character Designer (Much of the Macross series)
Yamaguchi Sampei, Sony Music Artists’ Senior Vice-President

They’ll be talking about novels, music, anime, digital content, all that stuff. I might be more interested in the forum if I actually knew of the panellists (like last year’s), but 残念~

Plus AFA2011 Anime Theatre action. From left to right:

Fullmetal Alchemist: The Star of Milos
Sora no Otoshimono: A Clockwork Angeloid
Naruto: Shippuden – The Blood Prison

And since I’ve had enough of summarizing and paraphrasing and editing, the Main Stage Featured Anime are:

Gundam Unicorn Episode 4 – At the Bottom of the Gravity Well
Puella Magi Madoka Magica
DAT FLOWER
Fate/Zero

I don’t actually know what “Main Stage Featured Anime” means. I assumed it was some sort of screening but it seems to be more of a discussion thing.

Anyway, here’s a link for more information. I’m as lazy as you are.

Opinions!

Honestly the only thing I’m really looking forward to is the Hatsune Miku concert. I do not get the Madoka hype, or the Homura hype, and as far as I’m concerned Kyouko was the best thing that happened in that anime. So there.

archyver’s mainly interested in Kalafina and Iwakami Atsuhiro. He thinks that Saitou Chiwa is going to be mobbed by creepy masochistic otaku.

defrayal is too highly levelled for my feeble mind to comprehend. Apparently he wants to go for everything, and will pay money for it.

sabershirou is in THE UNITED KINGDOM. イギリスです。And he won’t be attending AFA2011. Our prayers go out to him and we hope he can find solace in the arms of one of his cute female dorm mates.

And finally, photos! Of LiSA.

Yes, LiSA is in Singapore. Yes, she is stupefyingly cute. Yes, I did entertain inappropriate fantasies of her.

No, I’m not uploading any more photos. defrayal’s the guy who took them. Go bug him instead.

  1. tachi himura
    September 28, 2011 at 5:10 am

    the final episode of r-15 is relased you downloader in the blog right?

    • JohnnyYandere
      September 28, 2011 at 11:51 am

      My goodness, you really are quite the R-15 fan, aren’t you. Sorry, I haven’t watched the last episode yet, but I’ll try to get the post done by tomorrow.

  2. xexexe
    September 28, 2011 at 6:49 am

    Ugh! And I’m all the way in the States, so I ain’t got no money to even pay for my plane ticket ;_;

    But yea, same here, I really really really really want to attend a Hatsune Miku concert! I’d probably be able to sing more than half of the songs on the spot lol. Other than that, I guess the only other thing I can comment on is Madoka. Yea, so many people liked it, and at the anicon I attended this summer (Otakon in Baltimore), I saw so many Kyubeys (the white rabbit/cat creature), so I thought I’d give it a try. It’s been more than a month since I downloaded all the episodes, but I’m still only half-way done. That’s how much it drew my attention…(not much).

    Anyway, I guess, have fun (for those who are going)!

    • JohnnyYandere
      September 28, 2011 at 11:57 am

      Hoho. Puny island nation secures epic 3D Hatsune Miku concert! Fear the wrath of our disproportionately powerful marketing powers!

      IMO, I think Madoka is overhyped. One of these days I’m going to make a post on it (read: flamebait) but I am sick to death of all the fan worship.

      Right, concert. We’ll try to get as many pictures as we can
      (^ー^)

  3. September 28, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I prefer beef actually. (‘~’)

    Good for a blog to have it’s own beef. That’s what blogging is all about. Most pre/post event coverage by big fishes are as mentioned, more or else the same, copy and paste from sauce,

    Writing something witty will set us small time bloggers apart. (‘~’)

    Btw big Madoka fan here. (‘~’)

    • JohnnyYandere
      September 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm

      Although I prefer your blog’s strategy of superior photography. By Clow, your photo of LiSA is fantastic. Such high definition and clarity.

      Btw big Madoka cynic here. Haha!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

