Home > Episode Review, Kami-sama no Memo-chou > Kami-sama no Memo-chou 05: A filler episode if I ever saw one

Kami-sama no Memo-chou 05: A filler episode if I ever saw one

Why, hello there.

Personally I’d have bought the far more trollworthy physically disproportionate orange koala thing on the left.

I should not have freezeframe just to enjoy deadpan Alice.

Alice. Whatever happened to that mysterious, ethereal, otherworldly persona you had in episode 1? When you confronted that girl and told her that her friend was dead with no emotion whatsoever?

Now every moment I see you I’m just waiting for the inevitable stereotypical tsundere outburst.

I expected you to be the love child of Senjougahara Hitagi and L Lawliet. An intellectual who provokes using a combination of piercing wit and physical appearance.

And you turned out to be Victorique with even less composure. That’s putting it mildly.

Washing machine 1, plush bear 0. FATALITY.

I don’t know how we went from mystery solving to slice-of-life. And it isn’t even very good slice-of-life.

Simply put, Alice is a character that can exist in a mystery anime because extraordinary circumstances demand extraordinary characters.

I hate to mention Death Note again, but if a homocidal genius started killing with supernatural means, it would more than justify the existence of an eccentric super detective as well as the other weird things in the story, like the Mafia’s stealth rocket and Watari’s orphanage.

But when you take away the extraordinary circumstances, the extraordinary person now looks like a complete degenerate. L may be smart, but he’s lazy, has terrible manners, and is only working for his personal amusement. He isn’t going to be of much use in a world with no super criminals.

NEET Detective who?

Same with Alice. When she’s not solving crimes, she’s nothing more than a spoilt mouthy brat.

Cute as she may be, spoilt mouthy brats don’t make for great slice-of-life. Let me rephrase that. Spoilt mouthy brats make for great slice-of-life, since it’s realistic, but it sure doesn’t make for watchable slice-of-life.

Which is why J.C. Staff had better buck up and start churning out the mysteries, or Alice will chalk up the fan hate even faster than Kirino ever did.

(If I read the light novels and discover that this is actually how the story goes, I might actually burn them. I promise photos if it happens.)

I don't think I've seen that kind of hairstyle since Yu-Gi-Oh. Which I didn't watch, thank goodness.

For the time being Renji-san will have to amuse me, since I’ve mostly given up on the ‘daily life’ antics of the NEET crew (although I did like how Tetsuo is mentioned to be hitchhiking to the horse races in the countryside. There’s a man I can respect).

Renji-san, for the most part, reminds me of one video game character in particular.

Akiyama Shun, master of the chain combo kicks. Good times.

One of these days I really have to get around to reviewing the Ryū ga Gotoku series. Need to spread the word about these awesome games.

But back to Renji-san. He has some self-imposed ban on using his fists. He’s so badass he needs to limit himself to have fun when beating thugs up.

Yes, Renji-san is supposed to be providing the ‘mystery’ for this episode and the next. No, it’s not worth thinking about. He’s probably going to end up being a long lost comrade of Yondaime or whatever. I’d rather watch him humilate thugs in increasingly inventive ways.

Speaking of Yondaime…

Dude takes himself way too seriously.

I don’t understand why anime tough guys can’t have a soft side. I remember seeing one or two before who were both tough and compassionate, but I can’t remember them.

Yondaime would be mad cool if he would openly smash gangsters’ faces then conduct a sewing class at the local kindergarten. Instead he’s repressing his ‘unmanly’ side like an insecure punk.

His interaction with the fabric store manager reminds me of Cardcaptor Sakura’s Toya and Yukito. Not that I’m suggesting that Yondaime is gay, but it wouldn’t surprise me if he was.

… I’m starting to realize that I’m starting to lose respect for the cast, one by one. First was Narumi, then Alice, now it’s Yondaime. Min-san loses points this episode too for her absurd kawaii moment.

At the rate we’re going I’m going to end up liking Ayaka the most.

I don't know if this is actually possible.

But the idea itself is brilliant. And it definitely warrants further research.

It’s actually rather sad that the common Yakuza are more awesome than Yondaime is at the moment. Just look at that screencap. So awesome.

If only she could be cute without being whiny.

Alice. There’s nothing wrong with acting your age.

I get it. We all have moments of weakness, and beside you’re a young girl who shouldn’t be expected to be meditating on philosophy or poring through tomes on criminology.

It’s just that I expected to see some intellectual capacity even when you’re goofing around. I’m not expecting chess, but if you set up a Rube Goldberg-esque trap that led to a bucket of water dumping on Narumi’s head, I would be more than satisfied.

I confer upon thee the title of 'plot device'.

Narumi is more of a plot device than Ayaka is.

As the situation calls for it he either surpasses Alice or fail to think his way out of a wet paper bag; he can miss obvious details or notice that Renji-san’s about to pull a headbutt in less than a second; although at least his computer skills have always remained consistently high tier.

I’m just waiting for the inevitable moment when, despite his absolute failings thus far, he spontaneously develops fighting skills. At that moment, I’ll know that this series is unsalvageable.

  1. August 21, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    I found this episode to be a bit WTF as well. No enticing mystery, No Emotionless Alice and no dark ambiance that captivated me in the first episode.

    • JohnnyYandere
      August 21, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      Oh, it gets worse.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

