Home > Episode Review, Kami-sama no Memo-chou > Kami-sama no Memo-chou 04: Ramen or bust

Kami-sama no Memo-chou 04: Ramen or bust

ぼいん~


FACIAL DISTORTION TIEM

Recipe for episode success: a generous serving of Min-san’s generous oppai.

Plus a dash of hot ramen action.

Yes, the frames were recycled. No, I don’t care, because there is a severe lack of ramen representation in anime (or at least the anime that I watch) so I’ll take what I can get.

The discerning viewer will notice that J.C. Staff drew TWO sets of miso ramen. Totally not laziness at all.

But why do you put corn in your ramen, Min-san? T__T

RAMEN - SRS BUSINESS

It’s like a Jason Bourne/Tampopo crossover. I can see it now:

“I can tell you the orders for all six customers outside. I can tell you that the chef is left-handed and the guy sitting up at the counter weighs two hundred fifteen pounds and knows how to handle his noodles. I know the best place to look for chopsticks is the cab or the gray truck outside, and at this altitude, I eat flat out for half an hour before my hands start shaking. Now why would I know that? How can I know that and not know who I am?”

Oh yes. Oh yes please.

Her ramen brings all the boys to the yard.

The NEET detectives ask, “Who would steal Min-san’s sarashi?” (The Love Hina Wiki had an article but Wikipedia didn’t. Most intriguing.)

But the question they should have asked is, “Who would steal Min-san’s sarashi, and nothing else?”

Because if I were as psychologically disturbed as our intrepid sarashi-thief, and found myself in Min-san’s room, I’d take her sarashi, her blue sarashi, any other colour sarashi, her bras (surely she can’t be wearing sarashi all the time), her pantsu, and if I were still capable of cognitive thought I’d take all her other clothing, loiter outside her house, wait for the shock, then introduce myself and offer to help her.

“Min-san, all the stores are closed at this time of night, and I couldn’t bear the thought of a girl like you sleeping naked, so how about I lend you a shirt or two? I’ll be back in 10 minutes, I promise.”

“Min-san, I’ll buy you some clothes and bring them over first thing tomorrow. No, no need to pay, but you could treat me to a bowl of ramen for two, ha ha.”

“Min-san, this is kinda embarrassing but… what size bra do you wear?”

Tsundere pettanko angst. Sorta.

“Under: 70! Top: 95! G-cup!”

Oh wait that was Min-san’s measurements. It’ll be too cruel a joke to guess Alice’s measurements.

SURPRISE GUROFACE.

“Min-san, that can’t possibly be your sarashi in the back of my car! I bought that today when I was, uh, shopping for cloth! And lingerie! For my, uh, girlfriend! I mean, my sister! Uh…”

“O-Oh, You say they look exactly like yours? I guess that means we have similar tastes! Ahahaha…”

Min-san really needs to learn how to smile. It seems as if she’s perpetually looking to kill someone.

Then again, being taunted by ramen-Bourne on one end and harassed by a sarashi thief on the other, I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised.

Or J.C. Staff simply fails at providing non-egregious fanservice.

(I had to cherry-pick the shower scene frame. Min-san’s chin was grotesque in most of them and her boobs, G-cup as they may be, look terrible.)

This is why Alice makes Mukai wear his goggles and helmet most of the time.

I jest.

But that face makes me want to shove it through a brick wall, douse it in petroleum and set it on fire.

Fact: Petroleum has the consistency of tar and burns reaaal slow.

That said, Mukai appears to be a genius inventor too.

I’m shocked that his parents haven’t called up the police/military to drag off their son where he can spend the rest of his happy life in a military base inventing new ways of spying on people and blowing things up. And enjoy a fat government paycheck while he’s at it.

It was totally worth it.

I’d let Min-san crush my skull if it meant I got to stare at her lower body through the contours of a wet towel.

With any luck, I’d fall against her thighs and experience a fleeting moment of heaven before I lose consciousness entirely.

Min-san grasped the man's collar, her body trembling with unsuppressed emotion...

… with such proximity, Min-san could feel the man’s hot breath on her skin. She tensed, suddenly aware that she was almost naked…

Some screencaps can be so easily taken out of context.

Sexhair redux.

Min-san does look rather like Amagami SS’s Tanamachi Kaoru, doesn’t she? They’re both also prone to violence and work in the restaurant industry.

… and now I want a scene of somebody licking Min-san’s belly button and forcing her into full deredere mode.

I actually thought that was Min-san’s new bra. Kind of like a sly comment on how she should be showing off more skin, you know?

But overly decorated lingerie aside, I have to respect the designer guy. How many busts did he have to stare at to perfect his skills?

Yet after he’s done with his training, how can he look at a woman and not instinctively attempt to mentally picture her breasts and gauge her cup size?

Just imagine the awkwardness he must feel whenever he walks past an elementary school. Or an elderly couple on the street. Or whenever he attends a family gathering.

Speaking of elite training…

"Look at this. Look at what they make you give."

The Bourne Recipe – Ending Scene:

>>Min-san reads the note and sheds a tear at the thought of her father toiling to perfect his ramen broth. She flips to the next page and reads,

“Get some rest Min, you look tired.”

>>Min-san jerks around to look out the window.

>>Roll credits. Cue violin chords.

  1. Everyday Otaku
    August 1, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    This is the first episode I didn’t watch just for the moe alice of the week. Seriously, there’s one every week.

  2. JohnnyYandere
    August 1, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Alice’s moeness is actually wearing off pretty fast. I expected her to be an intellectual with occasional bouts of tsundere, not a tsundere with occasional bouts of intelligence  ̄3 ̄

  3. Tyler Junky
    August 18, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Everyone loves boobs….AND Ramen. This epsidoe was good. Kami-sama no Memo-chou is cool because it kind resembele Gosick. only in modern day. This is a good exsample showing that NEET’s in japan have more fun.

    • JohnnyYandere
      August 18, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      Unfortunately, this episode, and episode 1, are the only good episodes out of the six released so far. It’s depressing.

  4. chef
    October 10, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Just found your blog from searching kami memo and ramen😄 Good write up on the episode!

    BTW corn in ramen is a Hokkadio or at least Sapporo thing. One of their special ramen dish is Miso ramen with butter and corn. Its now one of my favorites.

    • JohnnyYandere
      October 10, 2011 at 6:20 pm

      Sadly, as of late, my wit has been sorely lacking.

      With regards to Ramen, I’ve been too heavily influenced by Tampopo. It’s not that I’d refuse to eat ramen with corn, or beansprouts, or fried chicken, or whatever they’re throwing on ramen nowadays, but I’d prefer my sliced pork + seaweed + bamboo shoots anyday,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

