Home > Episode Review, Kami-sama no Memo-chou > Kami-sama no Memo-chou 03: Who died and made Narumi Vice Admiral?

Kami-sama no Memo-chou 03: Who died and made Narumi Vice Admiral?

Tetsuo disapproves of the new leadership. (And so do I.)

That’s not the only thing that I hate about this episode.

From Idiot Balls to damn near Out-of-Character behaviour to one heck of a cop-out ending and much else besides, this episode was terrible.

But that’s getting ahead of myself.

How does he fight the urge to look down?

Let’s start with the good stuff (what little there is) before I start bashing the remaining 90% of the episode.

Min-san is fearless. And hot. And graduated from a confectionery school and is running her dad’s ramen place while her dad ran off. Which makes her awesome too.

Because if nothing else, I suppose I could survive on Min-san appearances even if the remaining 9 episodes turn out to be utter train wrecks.

"Don't you guys have a mystery to solve?"

Although I should have realized something when J.C. Staff started an exposition scene early on. In the middle of an ongoing investigation.

Much as I’d like to know more about Min-san and her past and where she learned to fight off Yakuza thugs, this is the kind of thing you leave to a filler episode. Or the 5 minute character development scenes that take place before new story arcs.

It’s not like the pacing was that important or anything. Isn’t that right J.C Staff?

Moar Min-san awesome goodness.

Then again in light of the rest of the episode, I now wish for more Min-san screentime.

At the very least it would reduce the amount of facepalm plot developments.

And that’s the end of the good parts.

I shouldn't criticize a weeping girl.

But Meo is asking for it. She behaves and thinks like an 8 year old in the body of an 18-year old.

Amazingly, this isn’t entirely unexpected. We’ve already been introduced to her in the previous episode, and she was clearly clueless, reckless, and prone to weeping at any moment.

It’s just that I was hoping that she’d turn out to be a more complex character. I’m thinking now that the original storyline called for an actual 8-year old but they couldn’t figure out how to plausibly explain an 8-year old contacting the NEET agency. So they bumped her 10 years physically but kept her original mental age.

Yes, hopes were dashed, but this is still alright. It’s not like it’s out-of-character.

I don't understand how Yondaime suddenly seems effeminate.

I’m guessing it’s the Narumi effect. It doesn’t matter how awesome Yondaime is, Narumi’s boasting a degenerative aura of -9999 manliness.

Narumi somehow gets a genuine badass to make a brother-bond with him.

It all goes downhill from here.

Alice can't believe she just got usurped.

Out of nowhere, Narumi figures out a battle plan. Before Alice does.

Narumi is essentially anime Shia LaBeouf.

And off he goes threatening and duping Yakuza.

What the heck. One moment Narumi is this whiny, irrational, impetuous kid, and next moment he’s L Lawliet? And Alice, who was originally the brains of the operation is now nothing more than a anthropomorphized hacker programme?

/repeated-headdesk

That's right. Hyperventilate like the little twerp you really are.

Is nobody else seeing the massive contrast here?

From a kid who Ayaka can push around to some sort of master detective con artist and then back to a wimp all within 5 minutes.

If the goal of this episode was to turn Narumi into The Wesley and make me hate his guts, it certainly succeeded.

At this point I’d like you to sit back, get a cool drink, play some classical music (preferably Bach´s Cello Suite No. 1, but I’m not picky) and enjoy the following screencaps of Narumi getting worked over.

Magnificent, is it not?

You know, after listening to that fine piece of music and getting my thoughts together, I realize that I shouldn’t be hating Narumi for the wild personality shift. It’s the scriptwriter’s fault, after all.

But he reminds me so much of a poser that I can’t help but hate him. That and he hogged so much screentime.

And Alice is missing her screentime.

See that girl with the blinding intellect and implausible computer skills?

Who looks fabulous and cute in anything she wears, and has the elaborate wardrobe to match?

I watch this show for Alice. So get the heck outta my screen, Narumi.

Totally not representative of real Yakuza.

One last gripe. I’ve quite an interest in Yakuza and their criminology, and while I’m no expert, I do know enough about them that I couldn’t take the anime seriously. That, and I have to say again that this case and its resolution were atrocious.

I’m assuming that Mikawa is a minor Yakuza boss and not a civilian running the front company – I’ve never read about a case in which a money laundering operation was headed by a civilian.

And no minor Yakuza boss would be so easily tricked by Narumi and Co. Actually, no Yakuza boss would ever tolerate being intimidated on his own turf. Since he didn’t realize that Yondaime was Yakuza as well (albeit the boss of an extremely eccentric group), he’d probably think that they were all civilians. And civilians butting in on Yakuza business usually results in torture and death.

That said, when the Yakuza henchman tried to call the bank’s hotline on his cellphone, he couldn’t get through. That shouldn’t have been possible since Mukai would have had to disable a cellular tower or something to do that, or sabotage the telephone exchange (which is probably housed within a highly guarded telecommunications building).

I’m not saying that there aren’t ways to cut off any phone call – I’m saying that those methods are stupidly unfeasible and not within their capabilities.

And it would be highly unlikely that the bank they chose had only one branch. True, if there was only one branch, Mukai disabling the land lines is possible – but such banks are usually small-time and would very likely not exist in central Tokyo, only in the less urbanized areas. Which would have made it impossible for the NEETs to conduct their stakeout.

Ultimately, it’s an anime, the good guys have to win, and nothing too violent can be shown. I just wish they hadn’t used it as an excuse to write such a flimsy storyline.

Wet Min-san in the next episode.

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but at the rate we’re going, I’d prefer Kami-sama no Memo-chou being a fanservice anime.

  1. defrayal
    July 24, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    This episode was bad period

  2. tomphile
    July 24, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    I just….really…what in the world happened?

    • JohnnyYandere
      July 25, 2011 at 12:36 am

      I wish I knew.

  3. Anonymous
    July 25, 2011 at 8:46 am

    I was wondering what was bothering me about this episode (and this show), and this post summarized my problems (although I don’t really like the fanservice) pretty well.

    • JohnnyYandere
      July 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

      Obviously the fanservice is still insanely out of place, but I’ll take what I can get.

      But the Meo story arc is so bad. It’s as if the pilot episode took up all the budget and they just gave up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

