Home > Episode Review, Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi > Sekai-Ichi 12: Masamune, Master of the Mixed Message

Sekai-Ichi 12: Masamune, Master of the Mixed Message

(po-po-po-po)

Is he smug? Or is he upset?

Does he know that Sekai-Ichi has finally ended, or is his stoicism proof that a second season/OVAs is in the works?

No one can read Masamune’s poker face.

(…ma-ma-ma-ma)

This is what moe is supposed to be about. It’s supposed to be the measure of cuteness, not hotness. I’m not saying that a girl can’t be both cute and hot, but I’m saying that a hot girl doesn’t necessarily have to be cute.

I.e. when you look at Sorata (I don’t know what’s the honorific for animals) you should be feeling the burning, stabbing sensation in your chest, not in your groin.

… unless you’re into some real kinky stuff. I ain’t judging.

Note the unusually neat bookcase.

My room’s neater than that of an anime character? Implausible!

I don’t even know how his clothes can end up where they are, unless Ritsu changes in the living room. A living room with wall-to-wall-to-ceiling windows and no curtains.

-cough- exhibitionist -cough-

(He's got to love nobody)

Back to Masamune.

When he turned up with Ritsu’s dropped papers I was so sure that he would tackle him once the door was open- a swift forced entry and takedown. Or vice versa, if you know what I mean.

Awkward restrained Masamune is awkward.

(And baby when it's love if it's not rough it isn't fun, fun)

This is more like it. Let the sex ensue!

You’ve only got 15 minutes and 28 seconds left in the episode after all. Oughta make the most of it.

(I won't tell you that I love you/Kiss or hug you)

Wait what. Come back!

Darn you Masamune! This is the absolute wrong time to start developing a sense of propriety!

Studio DEEN just had to make Masamune play hard-to-get in the last episode.

(I'm not lying I'm just stunnin' with my love-glue-gunning)

And suddenly Masamune’s dragging Ritsu off to his apartment.

By the way I do apologize for captioning my screencaps with the lyrics to Pokerface. It just seemed so appropriate. Until this one, I know I’m forcing it. No more Pokerface lyrics. Promise.

This is possibly the first time in the history of anime that locking a door warranted its own rousing background music and conflicted, emotional internal monologue. With no hint of self-deprecation or irony.

Yes, it’s mostly to emphasize Ritsu’s turmoil. But it would be a dark day for anime when we progress(regress?) to watching grass grow or paint dry.

Then again I would totally watch Kirino/Azusa stare at fields/blank walls for 24 minutes (the other 6 minutes would be Morning Rescue adverts).

Highly developed predators will never allow injured prey to escape.

He’s going to do it. Masamune’s so totally going to jump Ritsu’s bones. (Weird expression, that.)

Even though Ritsu is bleeding and in pain, it’s completely unsanitary, and the smell of antiseptic alone should kill any arousal, Masamune’s going to pull something anyway.

Go for it Masamune! Go for Olympic Gold!

Oh yeah.

But that is an exceedingly anguished expression on Ritsu’s face. It’s obviously the knee. Injuries and acts of passion don’t mix.

Although if Kanda Midori appeared in front of me saying she’d like the pleasure of my company and I was in the middle of recovering from multiple stab and bullet wounds, I might have to reconsider my position.

DAT ASS (again)

It’s always Masamune’s butt. I don’t remember Studio DEEN ever showing off anyone else’s butt.

Either I’ve forgotten, or I have a selective memory. I’m pretty sure I just forgot.

Om nom nom nom nom

So I was thinking since this is the last episode and I’m probably not going to be covering another Yaoi anime in a while, I should just go for broke and post as many guy-on-guy kissing screencaps as possible.

A brilliant idea, yes?

what

This is why phones must be turned off on airplanes.

So that couples getting naughty in the cubicles won’t have their private time interrupted.

What a troll. And on the meta level too.

Masamune being cockblocked is supremely amusing. Almost makes up for the satisfaction I’d have gotten from flooding this post with hot guy-on-guy action.

And yet Masamune’s taking it very well. I’d have disassembled the offending cellphone if I were in his position. Or maybe just block the caller for life.

(And after he's been hooked I'll play the one that's on his heart)

So I lied.

I think SHAFT should helm a romance anime and deconstruct the heck out of the classic romance directorial cliches. Starting with the cherry blossom petals.

Fish scales flying from a fishmonger’s chopping block? I’m down for that.

Oh little Ritsu's all grown up.

You would have thought that he finally consented to a relationship with Masamune.

Don’t kid yourself. That’s for the OVAs.

-mild surprise-

I shall miss you all – Masamune, Shouta, unnamed guy, Yoshiyuki, in that order.

They see Ritsu rollin, they trollin.

Seriously though I want to know who the unnamed guy is.

No, I don’t really dislike Yoshiyuki that much. I have faith that he will continue to torment Chiaki for generations to come.

Isaka cameo for the win.

Isaka needs more screentime.

And it’s kinda sad that Yokozawa vanished early in the episode and is banished via business trip. Oh well.

First time I'm using a screencap from the ED.

Final Impressions:

Right! Sekai-Ichi was my first attempt at covering a full anime series, and I’m pretty happy that I managed to stick with it until the end. Although my blogging regularity (and possibly quality as well) suffered greatly near the end. I do apologize.

All in all though, Sekai-Ichi’s had its highs and lows. And fortunately there were more highs than lows, but not by much.

The highs: whenever someone is being trolled. The characters and situations lend themselves very well to humour. The lows: almost every scene that involved Chiaki. Ritsu got on my nerves many times too due to his sheer stubbornness.

I can’t help but think that Sekai-Ichi would have fared better as a set of OVAs. I watched Koi suru Bo-kun (and I might get around to reviewing that at some point) and I think that Sekai-Ichi’s pacing would have been better if wasn’t forced to compress/drag out the material into 12 episodes.

Still, this was enjoyable for me. And I’d like to think I’m still straight after the course of it. Apparently guys who enjoy Yaoi are either straight or bisexual – actual gays prefer Bara.

But who knows! Sekai-Ichi was just the beginning. If a Bara anime ever comes out, there’s a pretty good chance I’d review it. And if there’s already Bara around, I might accept requests.

To be continued. In OVAs. Or so I heard.

  1. xexexe
    June 26, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    Wow, I can’t believe it’s already over! =0 Btw the unnamed guy is Mino-san, a minor character. He ALWAYS has a smile on his face, but if you get on his bad side, he can be the most crafty and calculating person you’ll ever meet. =D I paid attention to him only because he’s voiced by Midorikawa Hikaru, one of my favorite seiyuu! (Like I said, I’m a sucker for good voice acting.) Incidentally, he also voiced “Senpai” in Koisuru Boukun.

    After having watched the last episode, my lingering question is not “Will there be a season 2?” but “When will there be a season 2?” They kept Masamune and Ritsu’s relationship ambiguous and kinda “unresolved” at the end, so they’re all but certain planning on doing a 2nd season (if the DVDs for the 1st season sell reasonably well). I think Sekaiichi Hatsukoi will sell ever better than Junjou Romantica, and JR was already the top seller in the Shoujo genre.

    Oh, also: Ewwwwwwwwww~ Bara… (‘д’) I have no problem with yaoi, but bara scares scars me.

    • JohnnyYandere
      June 27, 2011 at 12:19 am

      I’ve just gone through TWGOK season 2 in like the past 5 hours and I would fancy the idea of a Yaoi Capturing God. Perhaps Mino-san can fit the bill?

      But Koi Suru Boukun was fantastic. I was more amused than moved, but it was fantastic.

      I don’t think there’ll be a season 2 – it’s going to be hard to drag on the relationship for another 12 episodes. Even if they break it up again into separate arcs, I know I was tired as hell of Ritsu after just 3 episodes.

      They should do it part Yosuga no Sora style with a first episode that gives each couple equal screentime, then devote 3/4 episodes straight to each arc, rather than switch couples each week. Terribly annoying.

      But yes. BARA. I will do it. I would take the plunge. Trolling must be upheld.

    • musicalcroc
      June 27, 2011 at 12:44 am

      The way they pace season 1 makes it rather tough for season 2. There will be like 7 chapters for Masamune-Ritsu (I honestly don’t mind if they skip some parts but it seems they choose to follow the manga faithfully) and 2 for Kou-Shouta. Not to mention the light novels.

      Just curious: what is the advantage of a TV series over OVA? Iirc, they will have more freedom in content with OVA.

      Bara is hardcore, I agree. But I’m more amused than scarred.

  2. musicalcroc
    June 27, 2011 at 12:31 am

    First, congratulations on passing a test of manliness. Not many guys can claim to have been through 12 solid eps of guy on guy action (though there is not much compared to other yaoi series). It’s been nice chatting with you. Sekai-ichi is really the first time you cover full anime series? Will you blog any of the summer 2011 series?

    To further what xexexe said about that ever smiling Mino, this is a glimpse into his character.

    Masamune and Ritsu live on 12th floor. Only birds will look through their windows, I think. Nice catch on the lack of curtains though. I didn’t pay attention to that. Though the indoors sakura petals did make me laugh, almost ruining that cute kiss on the cheek.

    I don’t think there are many Bara anime (or I’m just ignorant). “Legend of the blue wolves” is the only Bara anime title I know, though considering that you don’t like “Kaze to ki no uta”, this series is probably not for you. And if you ever watch Junjou Romantica, just skip the main storyline (which will be eps 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 12).

    • JohnnyYandere
      June 27, 2011 at 1:02 am

      This wasn’t really much of a test of manliness, when all’s said and done. The true test would be hardcore Yaoi hentai. That’s a level up I am not quite willing to make yet. And yes, it’s been very nice chatting with you too, and the readers in general. Such great motivation for those days I feel like bumming around.

      I haven’t decided which summer 2011 series to blog yet, but I have my eye on R-15 and Kami-sama no Memo-chou. Any recommendations?

      Yes, this is my first time covering a full 1-cour. I still need to blog [C] later, I may not want to cover 2 anime at once again. Or I could reduce coverage, but that’s not really my style.

      I think the TV series gets more exposure. After all, it’s on TV, and non-fans aren’t going to pay attention to a OVA release. TV broadcasts are more ‘respectable’ than OVAs and are more easily stumbled upon. So it’ll be attracting more viewers.

      And omg Mino. That is awesome. Box-cutter? So win. So now there’s a true Yandere in Sekai-Ichi. Yoshiyuki has been dethroned.

      The indoor cherry blossoms are probably just for the viewers’ benefit. Probably. Which is why I want a romance anime where the characters get hit by said sakura petals or improbably strong gusts of wind.

      One day. One day I will be able to look upon Bara and maybe appreciate it. That time will come.

      • musicalcroc
        June 27, 2011 at 2:21 am

        R-15 premise certainly sounds fun. I hear good things about the Usagi Drop manga (have not read it myself) so I will check out that show.

        Mino should definitely have more screen time. It’s been hypothesized that he gives a good idea of what manga editors are like when they snap from chasing after procrastinators. They use box cutters and X-Acto knives in their work a lot so there is no shortage of potential murder instrument.

        On TV series vs OVA: it would certainly be interesting if there is a way to see how effective a TV-series is in attracting viewers. Yaoi is a niche that I don’t think those who aren’t already fans will stay when stumbling on it. Though it is very amusing to see photos of big, pink banners advertising Sekaiichi in some Tokyo subway station.

        Forgot to say that Masamune faced a dilemma in this ep: getting the storyboard done or pouncing Ritsu. To the disappointment of fangirls, he chose to be professional.

      • JohnnyYandere
        June 27, 2011 at 4:56 pm

        I think Mino should have his own OVA where he goes around bashing mangaka’s doors in at 3 am in the morning.

        Shrug. I got somewhat hooked on Sekai-Ichi and I wasn’t ever a Yaoi fan. I think what’s more important is the first leap. Mainstream acceptance in the form of TV broadcast helps.

        Nah, Masamune’s too sensible to cut in on Mutou-san’s phone call. Although it might have given her ideas for her next volume.

  3. Mrs. Sak
    June 28, 2011 at 12:25 am

    wait. wait wait. WAIT.
    so what exactly was the fiance-problem that yokozawa was talking about? i hate how they left it completely in the air. why even bother putting that in if they’re not going to use it? HINT FOR AN OVA…maybe?

    • JohnnyYandere
      June 28, 2011 at 1:16 am

      Fiance problem? -is confused-

    • xexexe
      June 28, 2011 at 4:18 am

      Ritsu had and still has a fiancee…
      Masamune felt tricked and betrayed when he found that out.
      That’s why Yokozawa accused Ritsu of having hurt Masamune in the past.

    • musicalcroc
      June 28, 2011 at 4:34 am

      For added drama, the poor girl and the two families seem to think that the engagement holds, while Ritsu doesn’t and apparently he has cancelled it.
      (Damn that boy, he is so quick to reject but takes absurdly long to accept).

  4. Mrs. Sak
    June 28, 2011 at 4:19 am

    Well, I don’t know if you watched the episode with or without subs, but in the one I watched, Yokozawa was saying that Masamune got over his first depression -being dumped by Ritsu, only to fall after a couple of years into a second depression.

    Apparently, the reason for the second depression was that some random guy from Ritsu’s class in hs found out (and for some reason told Masamune) that Ritsu actually had a fiance the whole time he was dating Takano. Basically, he was dating two people at the same time. And this is when Ritsu starts screaming that it was a misunderstanding etc etc.

    Maybe i was a mistake in the subs, I don’t know. Maybe I was just trolled. But I swear it wasn’t my imagination. I went back and checked the episode and the lines are definitely there.

    • musicalcroc
      June 28, 2011 at 4:38 am

      No, the subs doesn’t troll you. The dialogues and scenes are taken almost exactly from the manga. But the story of the manga goes on beyond the scope of the anime (or at least season 1).

      • Mrs. Sak
        June 28, 2011 at 5:09 am

        Why even add this in the show? It’s confusing and absurd. I thought it was something along the lines of him not accepting her and so on, but still, it was not explained at all and, as someone who just been watching the show, I can’t say I give two cents for ritsu’s statements since he labels everything as a misunderstanding, and has the most selective memory I’ve ever heard of.

      • musicalcroc
        June 28, 2011 at 5:42 am

        Why ask me? *nervous laugh* All I can say is that that particular detail does not come from nowhere, and that it is addressed later in the original material. I agree that the final episode doesn’t even look final and there are unanswered plot threads (hell, even the Masa-Ritsu relationship isn’t properly closed). However, for Masamune-Ritsu and Shouta-Kou arcs, the anime is an (almost) exact adaptation from the manga, the story of which definitely doesn’t stop here, so it does seem that the animated version will be continued in one form or another.

      • xexexe
        June 28, 2011 at 7:16 am

        Why even add this info into the anime you ask? Going back to my very first post, I say it’s because they are eyeing a season 2! =D

    • JohnnyYandere
      June 28, 2011 at 10:17 am

      … the way you guys are going at it can’t help but intrigue me. Now I feel like researching this stuff. And I thought I’d only go that far for OreImo:/

  5. Maggie
    July 13, 2011 at 3:57 am

    I know there will be a 2nd season because Kadokawa likes to make money and to make money they have to broadcast Sekai ichi Hatsukoi and higher the price on cable. Anyways I am one of those yaoi fans (people call me “that half Asian bitch who loves gay crap” but im not really like that) I personally asked Kadokawa if theyre gonna make another Sekai ichi season. They said because of ratings theyre thinking and will see how the storyboard will turn out.
    I GUARANTEE A NEW SEKAI ICHI SEASON WILL COME OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. July 5, 2011 at 9:42 pm
  2. August 17, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

