Home > Episode Review, Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi > Sekai-Ichi 09: Ol’ Brown Eyes gets me every time

Sekai-Ichi 09: Ol’ Brown Eyes gets me every time

Kou's looking at Shouta - but then why do I feel so tingly?

Calm yourself, Johnny, they’re just eyes.

Hell, technically they’re pixels. RGB code 150, 75, 0. Kou isn’t even a real person! Just look away!

Dammit.

It doesn't work, Shouta. All you get is a bruised forehead.

Believe me, I’ve tried. Those damn dreamy eyes.

Symptoms of Love 01: Putting your head on your desk and pining.

What Shouta is doing reminds me all too much of my own unrequited love

All those hours I spent angsting – I’m not sure what I could have accomplished otherwise, come to think of it, but it would definitely be more productive.

Even the sight of Masamune doesn't perk me up like it used to.

It’s actually rather frightening how emotionally involved I am with Shouta.

I am both desiring and dreading the moment Kou appears – I melt whenever I see him and hear him and watch him, yet I don’t really want to admit that I could possibly feel for a guy so intensely.

Sure, he’s a fictional character, but what if I meet someone in real life who’s just like him? What then?!

At least I haven’t lapsed to this level yet. Although I can empathize.

It’s actually worse when instead of closing a file/webpage without saving, you overwrote it. The best save system in the world isn’t going to help you if you accidentally wiped and saved it yourself.

Although there is such a thing as recovery software. Someone should have told Shouta that.

That thing deserves an Art Prize of some sort.

I probably exaggerate.

But dammit that’s just one more thing that attracts me to him. I have the fondest admiration for people who excel at this kind of craftwork.

Wow. Simply, just, wow.

I swear if any guy built something like this for me I would seriously consider going out with him.

I’m not uploading this one screencap, but that doors there? Every hour they open and the plushie angel rabbit announces the time.

Either Kou ripped apart a cuckoo clock to integrate it into this installation, or he built the damn mechanism himself.

Now I’m desiring and dreading to meet a guy like Kou in real life. SIGH.

Oh Shouta, stop being a spoilsport already.

Those eyes are kinda creepy though? Partial artshift never quite works.

The first ever genuinely bad character.

Okay maybe I’m being too judgmental. We never did see his backstory or his interactions with other people. He could have been a nice guy who turned obsessive after getting a taste of Shouta’s youthful body.

But bad or not, the dude has balls. Grabbing a guy and declaring your love for him loudly on a public sidewalk? Holy crap. This is the sort of thing I should be doing to troll my friends.

Especially in front of girls they’re ogling.

Fatality!

Kou’s hands can both make pretty things and deliver a humiliating beatdown.

I do not appreciate how Kou is conforming to my mental image of the perfect guy. Now he’s got two qualities that Masamune doesn’t have.

There’s still hope though. We could find out in the last episode that Masamune’s been fighting crime in a costume that he designed and sewed himself. Wait – that explains his eyebags! It all fits!

Shouta has the willpower of a monk.

Or the stupidity of a Kyousuke. Really now. Even if you weren’t sure about Kou, he was throwing himself at you. Just go with it!

I’m especially envious of how practically every Japanese male character seems to have his own apartment. And that every love interest they want to confess to willingly goes to their place.

I mean, I’d settle for the apartment, but real life relationships don’t go this easy. Sadly.

I have a feeling that "chuu~" wouldn't be appropriate for this.

This is actually the sweetest kiss I’ve seen on Sekai-Ichi so far. Even with Masamune and Ritsu there was always some sort of aggression involved, but with Kou and Shouta it’s all very natural.

Shouta may be refusing Kou all this while, but there’s no denying the longing in his eyes.

And he has pretty eyelashes too. Oh gosh what am I thinking.

So Kou is artistic, not afraid to get violent, but tender and affectionate as well.

Now he’s filling the gaps in my heart that I didn’t know were there.

I actually expected them to have sex right there.

And I was pleasantly disappointed. It meant so much more since Shouta, who’s so used to having one-night-stands, is near catatonic from a simple hug. Oh Shouta, you’re in love. Now please don’t screw it up with self-pity and angst.

Of course, it wouldn’t be Sekai-Ichi without some measure of trolling.

Shouta is harassed by message after message and right when he’s had it, one last message comes in…

“I love you.”

...well played.

I don’t actually have much more to say.You could probably notice that this review is not as snarky or over-the-top as my other reviews.

That’s because I’m honestly contented to just sit back and just enjoy Kou and Shouta. It’s just perfect. I could sit back with a glass of wine and watch them all day.

Sekai-Ichi is my Oprah/RomCom/Hot chocolate with marshmallows.

Next Episode:

… just when things were going so well. On the bright side, we can probably get over and be done with these three after this next episode. A sidestory should only get 3 episodes out of a 12 episode series.

Which means that there’ll probably be only one more epsiode of Kou+Shouta. On second thought, I’d endure more Chiaki if it means I’ll get more of my favourite couple.

Not for you Chiaki, most definitely not for you.

  1. musicalcroc
    June 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Uh oh, somebody is swooning. Nakamura Shungiku’s a master of creating semes of one stripe or another that mesmerize fangirls. Kou is a bit too perfect that it flags my “everybody has a skeleton in closet” mindset though.

    I’m somewhat unimpressed by the display. A bit too PINK for my taste. But I do fall for the cuckoo clock with angel rabbit. If Kou built it himself I’ll call him my master.

    Sorry to burst your bubble but I doubt there would be further episode for Kou-Shouta. There is just too few canon material as their story starts quite late in the manga and Masamune-Ritsu messy affair needs wrapping up. I’ll put my bet on OVA adaptation of remaining part.

    • JohnnyYandere
      June 4, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      Hmm. Now that you mention it, I didn’t realise how one-dimensional his character is.

      Gah, you’ve not just burst my bubble, you’ve grabbed the bubble solution from me and poured it down the drain.

      Now I’m thinking of Masamune again. Oh fickle me. Thank goodness they’re fictional characters, eh?

      • musicalcroc
        June 5, 2011 at 1:05 am

        I was thinking more along the line of yandere-ness. As the cliche goes, the nicer a person, the scarier when they turned to the dark side.
        Kou is one-dimensional but the story is told entirely from Shouta’s side and he doesn’t know a lot about Kou so I guess one-dimensionality is kind of hard to avoid.

        Eh, it was that bad? Anyway, I don’t see why they won’t make more OVA and bundle in with the manga like they did with Masamune-Ritsu side story. It’s an effective strategy and they already announce another OVA for Chiaki-Yoshiyuki. So I think there will be one for Kou-Shouta as well.

      • JohnnyYandere
        June 5, 2011 at 1:27 am

        … a yandere? In my Yaoi? Say it ain’t so! Then again I’ve give anything to have Yoshiyuki or Yuu turn yandere on Chiaki. I have deep psychological issues.

        Yeah, I actually do prefer characters that aren’t Marty/Mary Sues, so. Oh God I just realised that Kou is practically my Edward Cullen. And there were sparkles all over the place. -facedesk-

        Well, as long as they hook up by series’ end and the OVAs are montages of married life, I suppose I wouldn’t really mind. I sure as heck wouldn’t want to wait for an OVA that consists of more teasing and implausible denials.

      • xexexe
        June 5, 2011 at 6:28 am

        “Well, as long as they hook up by series’ end and the OVAs are montages of married life…”

        Sorry to burst your bubble for a second time, but even in the manga right now Masamune and Ritsu are not NEAR to being together yet. In fact, in the most recent manga volume, (sorry about the spoiler) Masamune just got sick, and Ritsu was gonna go check on Masamune, but only found himself confronted by Yokozawa. Pressured and provoked by Yokozawa, Ritsu burst out and claimed “I actually really hate Takano!” and the chapter ends with Masamune staring at Ritsu, having just heard his declaration of hatred…

        So yea, unless the anime producers plan to significantly alter the storyline, and I mean “SIGNIFICANTLY”, then they’ll most likely need a second season or tons of OVAs to get Masamune and Ritsu together. Dammit, Ritsu, stop being a tsundere already!!

      • JohnnyYandere
        June 5, 2011 at 1:51 pm

        And now I’m in the mood for a Yaoi anime where the characters actually behave like normal people. And by normal I mean duplicitous and lust crazed.

        I’m talking a hookup, a torrid love affair, a messy breakup, rebound flings with other male characters, possible experimentation with heterosexuality, then makeup sex. Not necessarily in that order.

        If you’ve seen Genshiken S2E05, you know what I’m talking about.

      • musicalcroc
        June 5, 2011 at 6:41 am

        @xexe: if you are talking about Masamune-Ritsu, I heard that they hooked up immediately in the following chapter (10, I think) after some serious talks between all three parties. So it’s FINALLY resolved. Then for a change of pace, we hear Takano’s POV and a “honeymoon” chapter, so to speak.

      • xexexe
        June 5, 2011 at 8:42 am

        @musicalcroc
        Really? That’s good to hear!
        There’s only one problem: WHY HAVEN’T I READ THAT CHAPTER YET? >=O

        lol, actually, I don’t know where to get individual chapters. I can only find full manga volumes to download…=x and manga released are always several chapters behind the chapter releases.

      • musicalcroc
        June 5, 2011 at 1:44 pm

        @xexe: individual chapters tend to float around on LiveJournal. I can’t read them but fortunately, there are summaries at well. I was warned by some manga readers about how dragged out Masamune-Ritsu affair is, so I want to check. Chapter 10 is like finally, if only they (mainly Ritsu) talked to each other like the adults they’re supposed to be earlier. Fortunately Shouta-Kou got together quickly.

      • xexexe
        June 5, 2011 at 3:11 pm

        @musicalcroc

        You know, sometimes I’m stupid enough to forget I can also read Chinese😄 I just went to a Chinese manga website and read chapters 10 and 11. X3 Now my heart’s content. (I won’t spoil much, but) just when I was about to hate Ritsu forever, he finally did something right to Masamune. Although, I felt really sorry for Yokozawa =( he looked soooo heartbroken by the rejection.

        And yes, like you said, it seems like ShoutaKou is the only stable and official couple for now, so I’m not terribly worried about them.

        anyway, *runs off to read the Chiaki arc

      • musicalcroc
        June 5, 2011 at 3:33 pm

        @Johnny: Then you should probably start with the first Yaoi (or at least the one that launched the genre) Kaze to ki no uta if you don’t mind the 70s shoujo manga art style. I don’t know if it counts as “normal” but it has the stuffs you mentioned minus the experimentation with heterosexuality, add yandere and kill-em-all.

        @xexexe: Masamune’s rejection was brutal. He went straight to the juggular. But I guess that rejection too was overdue. And iirc, Masamune basically let the whole department know that he and Ritsu are dating. That guy is never half-assed indeed.

      • JohnnyYandere
        June 5, 2011 at 6:44 pm

        Gaaah. That art style. The story’s too morbid for my tastes as well. Drugs, gangrape and prostitution. Not to mention death. -hurk-

        Now I’m thankful for Sekai-Ichi. Well played, musicalcroc, well played.

      • musicalcroc
        June 6, 2011 at 2:06 am

        Er, it was not completely a joke when I suggested that title. I do think it’s a nice read, although the melodrama makes my head hurt sometimes. I have not seen them all but many prominent Yaoi titles are heavy on the tragedy side.

        Happier suggestions would be Kaze no Yukue and Doushitemo Furetakunai (all mangas)

      • JohnnyYandere
        June 6, 2011 at 2:31 am

        Not your fault. I should have mentioned that while such themes are my ideal choice for trolling, they certainly aren’t my preference for entertainment.

        Kaze no Yukue looks promising though. I’m a sucker for parental (or in this case grandparental) disapproval stories.

      • xexexe
        June 6, 2011 at 8:51 am

        @musicalcroc

        ikr!! THAT was the Masamune I know and like! I was laughing so hard at that scene, too, when Masamune told the whole department he and Ritsu were sleeping on one bed. It was especially funny because ALL the females + Shouta immediately went nuts and started demanding details. Yoshiyuki was like, “Ritsu, Yoshikawa Chiharu-sensei (Chiaki) just ran out of ideas. May we draw inspiration from your incident?” XDDDDD

        On the other hand, I still feel bad for Yokozawa >.< He didn't really do anything wrong, and I can't get his heartbroken-looking face out of my head. Sigh, if only Masamune had made things clear earlier. But on the bright side, at least Yokozawa won't be there to disturb Masamune and Ritsu's private time again. Gotta say, I have a lot of respect for Yokozawa. =x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

