Home > Episode Review, Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga nai > Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai 15: OH GOD SECOND SEASON PLEASE

Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai 15: OH GOD SECOND SEASON PLEASE

Dammit Kirino why are you so damn cute.

Now this is the OreImo that I know and love.

Pardon me for starting from the ending, but I must write about Kirino. I cannot contain my passion for her.

The airline's name is "Sphere". Must be subliminal advertising for Sony Music Entertainment.

Okay so I can contain it a bit more. Now, I did not actually expect this part to take place. It just seemed inconceivable that Kyousuke would actually get approval from his parents to fly to the USA. (Yes I know it happened in the light novels, but still.)

All that money spent on air and travel expenses and the dude didn’t stay in the country past 12 hours.

And yet that’s a non-issue. I’m riding the high from the ending.

You cannot imagine how happy I was when I saw this.

From this point on out I had the most inane grin stuck on my face.

Did I mention that ClariS’s irony was playing in the background? I don’t actually have an adequate enough analogy for the ecstasy I felt/am currently feeling. ‘Kid in a candy store’? ‘All my birthdays come at once’?

From now on I’m going to compare everything to ‘the moment Kirino returned to Japan’.

Look at Kyousuke, that smug bastard.

AND I’D BE SMUG TOO IF I HAD KIRINO FOR A SISTER.

Kyousuke, you lucky dog.

I mentioned in one of my Sekai-Ichi reviews that in Japan, going to the airport is a strenuous undertaking. One does not simply stroll into Narita.

It’s either a taxi fare that will cost you a month’s wages or a trek through Rohan, Isengard and past the city of Minas Tirith the more sane option of taking a train (the fare could probably buy you a nendoroid or two though). Why people still take taxis from the airports I don’t know.

I missed their bickering so much.

It’s strange. These two are the one bickering pair in which I don’t sense any unresolved sexual tension. And I can imagine unresolved sexual tension between a lot of things.

You know why? Because they’re friends.

"Welcome back."

-sniff-

"Good to be back."

IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL -breaks down and starts sobbing-

I could post a whole lot more screencaps but it wouldn’t do any justice to how awesome this scene is.

Anyway this whole airport scene is proof that Ruri loves Kirino. We know Ruri isn’t the richest girl and the fact that she actually spent both her time and money to go all the way out to Narita is rather indicative of their friendship.

So suck on that, you black-and-white false dichotomous if-you’re-not-for-me-you’re-against-me fans. How’s this for your way of thinking: If you like Ruri but hate Kirino even though Ruri can find it within herself to love her, you’re an ass. Vice versa applies, of course – it’s just that it tends to be the Ruri fans who go all Madoka fanbase on the internet.

Okay so maybe I’m overreacting to the fan furore. But I’m sure that within that chunk of angry text, there’s a valid point somewhere. I just happen to be too lazy to find and embellish it.

Backtracking. Kirino’s expression is spectacular. Delightfully magnificent.

Truly, when Kyousuke isn’t being the world’s densest, most insensitive block of wood he is a Man amongst men.

Who else would greet a sister whom he hasn’t seen in 6 months with Eroge?

I haven't had the urge to glomp anyone other than Sekai-Ichi characters in a while.

But I felt like giving Kirino a hug so damn much. Note that this is during her angst at not being able to play Eroge, not during her angst at not succeeding in track.

What the hell, I’d glomp her both times anyway.

I was so sure they’d kiss. And then engage in epic wincest sexual relations.

Just kidding. But the dialogue certainly wasn’t pulling any punches.

“I’m so lonely without you I can’t take it anymore! That’s the real reason why I’m here to take you back! I don’t care about your problems, okay?!

You don’t have to work so hard… you don’t have to be amazing… you don’t have to like me or anything! Who cares about what others think? If anyone was to say anything about you after all this, I’d beat the crap out of them!

Just come home… If you don’t, I might die.”

If that isn’t a confession, I don’t know what is.

"And how long were you going to hold on to your sister's shoulders?"

Oh Kirino. I have sorely missed your tsundere ways.

And though I haven’t been typing out all the quotes, this episode’s scripting is perfect. Everyone is back on form.

Daisuke is one intimidating police officer. I can picture him kicking Yakuza chinpira to the curb. I’d have wanted Nakamoto Worio to voice him but then I would never be able to take him seriously.

I still don’t know the mom’s name, but I will say this – she’s pretty cute. I’m never going to repeat that, so reread that statement as many times as you want.

Chuu~

This scene didn’t have much of an impact on me seeing that I’ve already seen it in OreImo Portable, but oh well.

I HAD to include this screencap or I’d be accused of Kirino favouritism or something.

I'm never going to get used to Ruri without her Kuroneko outfit.

I am so happy that AIC finally managed to get Ruri right. This is the perfect balance of cute and snarky. The demure cuteness and the obfuscating snark that Kirino cannot pull off.

Ultimately though, I still don’t see her getting together with Kyousuke, and the threesome idea is becoming less appealing every time I think about it. Maybe they’ll find some guy to match her with in her spin-off. Preferably someone less dense than Kyousuke, because she really deserves better.

Now a threesome with Ayase and Kirino, that I approve.

Ayase is marvelous in her own portion as well. I giggled when Kyousuke tried to call her and finally discovered that she’s blocked his number for the past 6 months.

I didn’t even know you could do that. I’d do it to a girlfriend just to troll her, but this is the kind of prank you list under “irreconcilable differences” in divorce settlements.

It’s just a pity we didn’t get to see Ayase’s mizugi photoshoot. Sigh!

"My sister used to breathe heavily and take pictures of me whenever I came home in my uniform. But recently she's totally ignoring me!"

Akagi must have been crushed when he discovered that his wincest route has been denied.

Not that I actually like the dude much. Perhaps I did before, but after screwing up OreImo Portable on my first run and having him for an ending… -shudders-

It's megane-less Saori! Shield your eyes!

Old joke – that Saori has to wear her glasses or risk causing everyone who sees her face to lose their sanity from her utter beauty.

I wonder how her maids and butlers ever got used to Saori switching between Ojou and Otaku on the fly. Maybe they’re simply paid enough to keep their opinions to themselves.

One day I will go to the hallowed streets of Akihabara to seek the one paper fan.

The one paper fan that will bring the masses to admiration and despair.

The one pantsu art paper fan – to rule them all.

Now not even Victorique could pull that off.

Back to Kirino.

I cannot understate how much I have missed her.

Or her otaku antics.

I can’t actually think of any other cute girl who is as passionate an otaku as Kirino.

So please AIC.

SECOND SEASON ONEGAISHIMASU

lolwut

  1. xexexe
    June 2, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I actually don’t watch OreImo, but I got curious and read your review anyway. =D

    Although I have no idea what happened in the previous episodes or why Kyousuke had to go to America, I understand 100% that feeling you’re talking about: “From now on I’m going to compare everything to ‘the moment Kirino returned to Japan’.” With it being a happiness-inducing scene accompanied by the main theme and all. It’s a technique they use in anime that works on me EVERY TIME. X3

    Also this: “Not that I actually like the dude much. Perhaps I did before, but after screwing up OreImo Portable on my first run and having him for an ending… -shudders-” I think I know what you’re talking about. I haven’t played the game, but I know in Clannad you can also get a Sunohara (another guy) ending, which is 50% funny and 50% awkward.😄

    • JohnnyYandere
      June 2, 2011 at 2:08 pm

      I know right! The worst part is that you know what they’re doing and you’ve been through it before and you’re still swept along. Screw double rainbows, this is the real shit.

      Oh Sunohara. I didn’t really like him much in either anime or game (not that I played much, I hated the interface on PSP), but he did have a cute younger sister :3

  2. enixfire
    June 8, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Okay I just finished watching this episode and good lordy does this setup for a second season. If they leave their fans waiting without a second season it’ll be heartbreaking!

    With that out of the way, god I loved this episode, finally the little perky ball of eroge-fangirl energy is back, I didn’t know how much I missed her till I actually saw her! Absolutely everything was included in this episode that I could have asked for. I got my lovely fix of Sena, Akagi and his wonderful siscon self, Saori being the otaku character I know and love, Ayase being Ayase, I even was happy to see the Manami and her blatant “I’m a side character” appearance. It’s as though the director set the stage for a grand finale, but I’m not convinced that this is the grand finale I’m positive there will be a second season with Kirino back in action! I mean you wouldn’t just introduce characters like Sena & Akagi if you wore going to leave them dry, and on that note, I’d be pretty happy if through Ruri, Kirino and Sena met it’s be a great thing to see. I’m on extreme fangirl buzz from seeing this episode I’m kinda having trouble organizing my thoughts so with that I’m going to stop here.

  1. June 3, 2011 at 9:34 pm
  2. June 4, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

