Home > Episode Review, Sekai-Ichi Hatsukoi > Sekai-Ichi 08: I am so sorry Masamune, I truly am.

Sekai-Ichi 08: I am so sorry Masamune, I truly am.

Damn those dreamy eyes.

Dear Masamune,

I think I’ve fallen for someone else. I know it’s kinda rushed, since I’ve only seen him in one episode while I’d adored you for at least five. Please don’t misunderstand, I do still think that you’re wonderful. It’s just that with you, it was always more of admiration and adoration; but with this new guy, my heart flutters and goes all warm and fuzzy and gosh I don’t know.

I hope we can still be friends – I’m still going to be rooting for you in your story arc. I’m really sorry that it didn’t work out between us, but I’m confident that you being the awesome person that you are, you’ll find someone else soon.

Lots of love,
Johnny Yandere

Okay so that was perhaps a little melodramatic. But this new couple – I didn’t think there would ever be a pairing which I’d love more than Ritsu/Masamune, yet there it is.

Pretending to browse while staring at cute bookshop employees is a tradition that transcends all cultural borders.

This is Kisa Shouta. He works as one of the sub-editors at Marukawa Publishing under Masamune, just like Ritsu. He is confident and snarky, yet easily flustered when it comes to romance.

And dammit, he has dreamy eyes too.

Shouta has this one peculiarity – due to a lack of romance in his life or simply an overactive imagination, he often fantasizes about being in a relationship with people just going by their looks. Rather superficial, I know. More on this later.

Every anime can be vastly improved by a single 3 second scene of giggling girls.

And this is Yukina Kou. He is an employee of Books Marimo and is one of the smoothest and most shameless salespeople I have ever seen. I mean that in the best possible way.

When the girls say that they ought to watch their expenses and have second thoughts about buying a new release, Kou ripostes with “That’s too bad. I was hoping you could read it quickly so we can get together and talk about it.”

WHERE MY MONEYS AT

And when they ask him why he works in the Shoujo Manga section, Kou charmingly croons “Working here means I get to see you girls.”

RABU RABU RABU I WANT YOUR RABU

Kou could obviously be making a lot more money working a chatline for lonely girls. Or as the anime noted, as a host.

Yandere smile never fails.

Back to Shouta. He’s no pushover. He’s angsty and extremely passive when it comes to relationships, but he isn’t going to be bossed around.

Especially not by the guy whom he went out for a drink with that one time and is deluding himself into thinking that a relationship exists.

That's right, side-characters can never approach Kou's level of awesomeness.

Kou is no pushover either. He may be charming and sweet with the girls, but he isn’t afraid to get physical with the odd violent customer.

Nor with a stalker who went out for a drink with Shouta that one time and is deluding himself into thinking that a relationship exists.

Partial artshift is actually more disturbing than it is funny.

Back to Shouta again. Did I mention that he’s easily flustered when it comes to romance?

And that he's actually 30 years old?

Shouta should quit being a sub-editor and start working as a model, or at least moonlight as one. Or maybe not, since he’s already 30 and he isn’t going to be looking like he’s 18 for much longer.

Still. Handsome, cute dude. I’d hate him if I didn’t love him so much.

And dammit, Kou is one handsome, cute, (and sparkly) dude too.

I love both of them to death. I want to glomp them as much as I want to glomp highschool!Masamune, perhaps even more.

Kou is the guy I wish I could be. Not so much his looks (although that would be nice), but his personality.

I have no problems about saying the lines he says to my friends with a straight face (you should see how I mindscrew my fellow writers through Yaoi) but I don’t have the guts to say them to random strangers.

Yokozawa and Kou both don't notice Shouta's utter despair.

While Shouta is kind of the guy I am now. Snarky and easily flustered when it comes to romance, yes, but it’s his tendency to daydream/delude himself is what I can really identify with.

I can’t imagine the number of times I’d see some random girl on the bus/train/street and I’d imagine myself bumping into her and hitting it off and whatnot.

Which is why when Shouta was crushed when he realized Kou didn’t notice him as much as he noticed Kou, I felt a little tingle of pain and a massive wellspring of sympathy.

Shouta isn't used to his fantasies coming true.

Which brings us to why I love Shouta/Kou more than Ritsu/Masamune.

Sure, Ritsu and Masamune are cute and funny together, but I couldn’t really understand Ritsu and his constant denial for his feelings for Masamune, and as stated earlier, I never did understand Masamune so much as I simply admired him.

However, not only are Shouta and Kou adorable together (there is that scene in the OP where Kou hugs Shouta to his chest, and I die every time I watch it), I can also fully empathize with them. What Shouta does in his situations is exactly what I would do if I were him; from the lingering at a counter for the cute cashier, to the drinking alone at a cafe (if I could find one as nice as that, that is). And if I were Kou, I’d do the exact same things he does too.

Oh Kou. You're so awesome. I might just begin to bring a giant sketchpad on dates so I can obnoxiously cover up any public displays of affection.

The things I’d do if I were as gutsy and good looking as Kou is. (The good looking part isn’t so important – but I do have a frail ego.)

Yes, as you can well infer by now, I wholly approve of this new pairing. I must admit that I’m feeling emotional at the moment (due to a lack of sleep and some senseless reminiscing) which is why I’m probably more enthusiastic than I would be if I were sober.

I’d expect that once I get some sleep and return to my usual grouchy self I’d be longing for more Masamune belligerence. But there’s no denying the stirrings in my heart at watching Shouta and Kou. I haven’t felt this way since Cardcaptor Sakura. Next week can’t come soon enough.

Next Episode:

Glossary: The Rabbit Mascot’s name is Tinkle.

It's the sort of name you give to little furry animals and internet trolls.

Again, next week’s episode can’t come soon enough.

Alea iacta est, et tu Brute, all that jazz.

Omake:

The other side of the giant sketchpad.

  1. musicalcroc
    May 29, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Your post makes me smile (apart from the arrival of Madoka Magica OST at YouTube, that is). The episode is indeed fluffy, although Kisa (I like the sound of that name) broods more than his appearance lets on. I’ve yet to see “sparkle” joke about Yukina although people would probably say that comparing him to that vampire is a sacriledge.

    What I dislike about this episode is how the anime sanitizes more, well, unpleasant aspect of Kisa. From the manga, he doesn’t just fantasize about good looking men. He is a Casanova-like character (in his own words he falls for good looking men, sleeps with them and then dumps them when he gets bored). Taking that out of his character reduces the nuance of him being so flustered around Yukina (in other cases, he is confident or even the seducer). The Casanova is suddenly confronted with true love, so to speak.

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 29, 2011 at 6:19 am

      … wait wait, so in the manga Shouta is a Seme? Then it’s actually a SemeXSeme pairing?

      Oh gosh I forgot to make a sparkling joke. Ah well. Next week. I’m exhausted as it is and it’s 6AM now and I REALLY ought to sleep.

      • enixfire
        May 29, 2011 at 6:45 am

        Oh no, no! Kisa isn’t seme at all, and frankly the way I understood it was that Kisa had a one night stand with the guy and then the guy took it overboard thinking they were dating. That and I don’t exactly think Kisa is a casanova either it’s just that he has one night stands with people in place of relationships. That being said it’s not like he dumps them it’s that he and the ones he slept with were never in a relationship to begin with so he leave em.

      • musicalcroc
        May 29, 2011 at 2:26 pm

        @Johnny: It’s not stated in the manga whether Kisa was seme or uke in his previous relationships, though I’m not surprised if he had been seme once or twice. For Yukina he is designated to be uke but then he is 9 years older than the guy so it kinds of balance out.

        @Enix: oh, with that particular guy it was a one-night stand and Kisa even said that upfront to him. But Kisa did say something to the effect of falling in the so-called “love” based on looks only and then falling out of that relationship on his own accord. So I think at least some of his past flings were a bit more than simple one-night stands.

      • JohnnyYandere
        May 29, 2011 at 8:35 pm

        Personally, I like Shouta being 9 years older and having slept around before because then his jaded attitude is all the more convincing. I don’t think he’s actually trying to be Casanova – I think he’s a victim of his own fickleness.

        He sees a hot guy, he thinks he’s in love, he goes through the sex, he wakes up and realizes that it was just the good looks that attracted him, he leaves and hates himself for his superficiality, then goes through the cycle again and ends up more jaded with each encounter.

        But yes I do find the idea of an older Uke very appealing. Don’t judge me.

      • musicalcroc
        May 29, 2011 at 9:59 pm

        Casanova is indeed a bit too exaggerated to describe Kisa, but that’s the term on the top of my mind when talking about those who sleep around. I don’t think Kisa is the type to seduce people just for the sake of it either, but he stands out in that he knows where his desires lie and goes for it. Well, maybe not so much in the present.

        BTW, his young looks notwithstanding, I can buy that Kisa is 30 from the way he broods. It’s world-weary, not the you-don’t-understand-me teenage angst.

        Just curious, you watched Cardcaptor Sakura. I never got to finish the anime, but like the manga a lot.

      • JohnnyYandere
        May 30, 2011 at 4:19 am

        And I absolutely love the world-weariness. I am sick to death of teenage angst. But then again Shouta doesn’t really act his age – as jaded as he is, his mannerisms can still pass for that of a 21 year old (no 30 year old sits on his chair the way Shouta does).

        And yes, I watched Cardcaptor Sakura. I usually dislike anime with more than 24 episodes but I followed Sakura faithfully for all three seasons. I don’t remember the manga though, probably because I read it when I was 13 and I wasn’t really into manga/anime back then.

  2. xexexe
    May 29, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Ahahahaha, thank you for another great laugh, JohnnyYandere. Reading your review after watching the episode is like eating dessert after the main meal. =)

    I get what you’re saying. Ritsu is such a subconscious tsundere that sometimes I slightly annoyed by his denial of love for Masamune. (And for the record, I have never been a big fan of tsundere characters.) However, I didn’t abandon RitsuxMasamune for ShoutaxKou, probably because I’m not the so-called “menkui” type (attracted by physical looks; that’s the word I learned from watching this episode). But JohnnyYandere, are you perhaps slightly very menkui now? =P

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm

      I do need to remind myself to review the episodes and not simply summarize them though. One of my more common mistakes:/

      And well, I think everyone is, to some extent. The girl I like isn’t stunningly beautiful or hot (well she is to me, but then again I’m obviously not being objective here) but I am actually quite the menkui type.

      Especially if it’s anime. Because I could seriously stare into Shouta’s and Kou’s eyes for hours.

  3. Benihime
    May 29, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    This is my fave couple too! I’m happy with your review! About Kisa previous ativities *spoiler* there’s a scene in manga where Kisa is giving ahn… cof… a blowjob to Yukina, and then Yukina says, “why are you so good at it?” and Kisa just thinks but doesn’t say it aloud, “it’s just that I’m used to doing this”. Even so Kisa is totally uke type.
    Johnny, if you like older ukes you should give a try on Junjou Egoist pair.

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 30, 2011 at 4:22 am

      I think he should have said it aloud. It would have been absolutely hilarious :3

      I would, but I don’t really like reading manga. Is the Egoist pair in the anime adaptation?

      • Benihime
        May 30, 2011 at 6:27 am

        Yeah, that would be super funny if he have said!😄 But still Kisa needs to grow more confident about his relationship with Yukina.

        You can see Egoist couple on Junjou Romantica tv anime 1st season, episodes 3, 5 and 6. You also would like to see Akihiko and Hiroki as children, episode 9. And then season 2, episodes 4 and 6. Nowaki, the seme, is 4 years younger than Hiroki, and he is a very calm and kind person, although Hiroki is a tsundere.

  4. 5hinkisarang
    December 31, 2011 at 8:31 am

    “Pretending to browse while staring at cute bookshop employees is a tradition that transcends all cultural borders”

    >< so true! that's why Kisa Shota is my fav uke eva!! that and having Kou-sama as his lover ^^ I loved this chapter to bits, it's one of my fav from Season 1

    from season 2 I love the one with Kisa slutting around and Kou busting him HAHA!!!

    • JohnnyYandere
      December 31, 2011 at 11:09 am

      I think season 2 messed up a lot of things for me. I guess it’s more realistic, seeing the bad side of people, but Shouta’s insecurity and decision to cheat on Kou left a bad taste in my mouth.

      He should just go back to stalking Kou from afar. Ah, those glittery days of season 1…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

