Home > Episode Review, [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control > [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control 06: Jennifer’s Body

[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control 06: Jennifer’s Body

Epic lens distortion!

So I know this episode was supposed to give us a little more information on how The Financial District works and the possible implications of using your future as collateral.

But I couldn’t really concentrate with all those loving camera shots of Satou-san’s body.

No '3 frames of uncensored nipple action' here.

But holy crap. Jennifer has one hot body.

Woah. Just, woah.

That is one extremely sexy set of lingerie.

I don’t know if it’s intentional, but I love how it matches the colour of her lollipop.

"Silly human, otaku prefer DFC and Zettai Ryouiki."

Reigning queen of fanservice Mashu isn’t one to be upstaged by mere lingerie and a larger bust size.

Only Mashu can look this cute while eating a bowl of instant ramen. I love how she’s holding the chopsticks in a reverse grip and isn’t actually using them to pick up the noodles.

Kimimaro's finally taking notice of his hot young Asset.

This actually gets a bit bizarre, depending on which your personal hypothesis on the true nature of an Asset. There are, at present, two major camps.

The first group believes that Assets are demons. Not problems there, right? Kimimaro would simply be making out with a hot demon girl.

And the second group believes that Assets are the physical manifestation of the Entrepreneur’s future. So Kimimaro would be making out with his future. My mind can’t even begin to consider what that previous sentence would imply.

See how screwed up things can get when you try to personify abstract concepts, then allow them to serve as love interests to characters?

Her sunglasses frames are purple too!

Jennifer eats a lot of junk food. I’m horribly envious of her evidently superior metabolism.

"Please don't start having sex on the back seat; bodily liquids are a pain to clean up."

Apparently, Jennifer’s test to check if Kimimaro is still human is to push her bust into his face and see if he gets flustered. I hereby endorse this method of testing new applicants for a career in customer service.

Just imagine: “New recruits, to confirm that you can remain calm under pressure, we’ll be having a well-endowed young lady push her bust into your faces.”

This episode really felt like filler. Nothing much happened apart from Jennifer’s teasing and the Deal with Sennoza Kou.

Holy crap what is that

That’s like a Final Fantasy hidden boss thing.

That is one intimidating Asset.

Admittedly we don’t get to see much of the Deal apart from the first part in which Mashu and Kimimaro get knocked back repeatedly through Karma’s sheer power.

Mashu even loses an arm. That was really unexpected.

"It's just a flesh wound HURK"

Kimimaro does win the Deal, although we don’t get to see how. Sadly. I would have liked to see how the two of them actually defeat that monstrous beast of an Asset.

So yes, this episode really felt like filler. A fanservice episode, so far as an anime about financial manipulation can actually offer fanservice.

Oh sure, there was alot of talk about what Entrepreneurs should be fighting for, a regulation that allows the skipping of a Deal, whether the future was worth risking for the present and vice versa. It’s not that these things aren’t important.

It’s just that they could have been brought up while the plot continues on. It’s like being on a commercial flight and the pilot decides to circle around for the duration of the in-flight movie. It made this episode seem rather unnecessary. I sincerely hope that Tatsunoko Production isn’t already running out of storyline.

In hindsight, I am enormously thankful for both Jennifer and Mashu. Because if nothing else, fanservice will suffice.

A Q is fine too.

  1. xexexe
    May 25, 2011 at 8:22 am

    oh my, I’ve been wondering whether I should give C a try, but seeing these rather…interesting screenshots, I think it’s worth my time.

    that “Asset” does look like a FF boss, although my first thought was that it looked like this pokemon: http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Sigilyph_%28Pok%C3%A9mon%29
    =D

    • JohnnyYandere
      May 25, 2011 at 10:08 pm

      …pokemon. -facepalms-

      I don’t actually know if I would recommend [C] to anyone. It looked like things were going somewhere as of episode 04, but now it’s just an Asset fashion parade. It’s not a good sign that they have to resort to fanservice to keep viewers entertained.

      • xexexe
        May 26, 2011 at 6:51 am

        Oh I see, that’s what the fan service was for. Yea, I saw the trailer, and read the preview synopsis, and my reaction to both was my blank expression lol. (I.e., I’m still not sure what the show is about.)

        But I trust your judgment, and if you’re not exactly recommending it, then guess I’ll skip it then (at least for now). I think the theme song itself received more attention than the actual show for some reason, so that’s where all the initial hype came from.

        And don’t judge my passion for Pokémon! >=P

      • JohnnyYandere
        May 26, 2011 at 10:02 pm

        I believe the hype was due to misinterpretation. I myself expected a Saki/Akagi-style depiction of stock market manipulation. I imagined competing brokers crashing the markets as a lyric opera performed O Fortuna.

        But yes I was disappointed. It’s not a failure by any means, but you could go your life without watching it. Then again we’re still halfway through. Perhaps things’ll be better by series’ end.

        And I know a guy who can identify Pokemon by their cries. Like, the DS electronic warble sounds. So I won’t judge. Unless you tell me you can do that too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

