Home > Happenings > Japan’s disappointment in Spring 2011 anime

Japan’s disappointment in Spring 2011 anime

Right, I don’t know what Japan is smoking but looking at the rankings for Top 10 Most Disappointing Anime of Spring 2011, the top spot really leaves me flabbergasted.

  1. Nichijou
  2. 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku
  3. Dog Days
  4. A Channel
  5. Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai
  6. Steins;Gate
  7. Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko
  8. Hen Zemi
  9. Hidan no Aria
  10. Softenni
sources:
biglobe, sankaku

Seriously? Nichijou? The manga must have been ultra stunning or something to leave the audience disappointed, because it is the most surreal-in-a-good-way show I have watched since Azumanga Daioh.

~Infy

  1. enixfire
    April 25, 2011 at 6:48 am

    This indeed leaves me “flabbergasted” too! I take pride in the fact I’ve seen all of the shows mentioned and the only one that deserves to be at #1 is Hen Zemi from my point of view. Perhaps it’s the radiation, but those do no deserve to be categorized as “disappointing” by far! Even if not all the shows are up to par as to really memorable and amazing shows like Madoka those shows are still better than the norm that usually comes out. Dog Days is nicely polished, 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku is actually kinda funny (at least for me it is), all the others shows too have they’re own good points. Good lordy, I worry for the youth and what is becoming interesting in todays culture.

    • April 25, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      iknowright. thou I’m not watching 30-sai, Oretachi, Hen Zemi and Softenni (for some reason I’m avoiding all the echhi shows this season), so I can’t talk about those choices.

      I guess
      -Dog Days is there due to the revelation that war is just a competition and nothing serious at all.

      -Steins;Gate maybe cos it’s kinda confusing and the original game was great.

      -Hidan has been somewhat boring so far

      Maybe it isn’t because the shows aren’t interesting but that they didn’t live up to Japan’s really high expectations ahahaha.

  2. April 25, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Nichijou really shouldn’t be there. It’s funny in a quirky kind of way. I’m not sure what people are expecting from a series that uses dumb humour. Are they expecting some drama, character buildup and a car chase scene?

    Why can’t they take Nichijou at face value?

  3. FlameStrike
    April 29, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Wow is this for real, and not some troll? My tastes must be totally out of line with Japan’s since I’m enjoying almost all of those shows a lot.

    • April 30, 2011 at 8:16 pm

      cultural differences between us and them might have something to do with it.

      I know I’m enjoying Nichijou, DogDays, Steins, Denpa, Hidan, and I don’t watch the rest. So the only anime of disappointment tt I agree is A Channel :B

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

